Several local elected officials are carving pumpkins for a cause.

The pumpkins are on display starting at noon today at the newly renovated Truman Courthouse on the Independence Square. They are on display until noon Saturday – shortly before the Independence Halloween Parade that goes near the Square – and visitors will select a winner by voting with their dollars for a favorite.

The money donated for each pumpkin will go to that specific charity, but an overall winner be declared.

The officials and their charities are:

• Jackson County Executive Mike Sanders, Children’s Center for the Visually Impaired.

• Blue Springs Mayor Carson Ross, Community Services League of Blue Springs.

• Independence Mayor Don Reimal, the Independence unit of the Boys and Girls Clubs of Greater Kansas City.

• Grain Valley Mayor Mike Todd, Grain Valley Holiday Senior Baskets.

• Sugar Creek Mayor Matt Mallinson, Sugar Creek Citizens Civic Relief Commission.

• Oak Grove Mayor Mark Fulks, Community Services League of Oak Grove.

• Kansas City Mayor Sly James, Turn the Page KC.

• Lee’s Summit Mayor Randy Rhoads, One Good Meal.

• Raytown Mayor David Bower, Raytown Three Trails Kiwanis.

• Grandview Mayor Steve Dennis - Grandview Assistance Program.