By The Examiner staff

Two current Independence City Council members will square off next April to determine the city’s next mayor.

Jim Schultz and Eileen Weir both announced their mayoral candidacies earlier. Friday was the deadline for candidates to file for the races for mayor, at-large council member and 3rd District council member. No one else put their name up for the mayoral race by the 5 p.m. deadline. Mayor Don Reimal is not seeking re-election.

Others filing by the end of the day Friday were:

• Council member at-large: Three people have filed for two seats. One of those seats is now filled by Schultz. The other is filled by Chris Whiting. Those who filed are Whiting, Karen DeLuccie and Joshua Crocker.

• 3rd District council member: A special election will be held to fill the seat that had been filled by Myron Paris before his resignation to move to Florida. Roxann Thorley, who was selected by the council to serve as interim council member, filed to take the seat until the next regular district elections in 2016. Scott A. Roberson also filed for that seat. Chris A. Rohrs, who filed earlier, withdrew on Friday.

The election will be April 8. Because no more than two people filed for any one seat, there will be no primary.