By The Examiner staff

No matter the sport, it appears there’s a good chance the path to any Suburban Big Six title in the next two seasons will have go through somewhere in Lee’s Summit.

According to the Suburban Conference realignment scheduled to be officially released next month, Lee’s Summit West should be in the Big Six (Gold Division) for at least the 2014-15 and 2015-16 school years, joining Lee’s Summit, the city’s original high school, and Lee’s Summit North. Blue Springs, Blue Springs South and Raymore-Peculiar will remain as the other Big Six schools.

West’s boys enrollment has swelled enough to be one of the 32 biggest in Missouri, thus placing them in Class 6 for football, where Blue Springs has won back-to-back state titles. West recently won its second Class 5 title in four seasons, and the Titans have accounted for Blue Springs’ only loss the past two seasons while the Wildcats were the only team to beat West this season.

West’s move to the Big Six would shift Liberty (which is now expected to be Class 5 in football) to the Middle Six (Red Division), joining Truman, Park Hill, Park Hill South, Ruskin and St. Joseph Central.

Darwin Rold, the athletics director for the Lee’s Summit School District who also supervises officials for the Suburban Conference, said realignment quite possibly leaves the Big Six peerless across a multistate area.

“The Gold Division, with all three of our schools, with Blue Springs and Blue Spring South and Ray-Pec, in my opinion makes it the toughest high school conference in all sports in the entire state of Missouri,” Rold said, “and maybe the entire state of Kansas, and the state of Nebraska, Iowa, Illinois – top to bottom.

“It will be fun to watch.”

Liberty North, which has been in the Small Six, would move up to the Middle Seven, switching with Belton. That likely means a move up to Class 5 from Class 4 for the Eagles too. Continuing in the Middle Seven (White Division) will be Fort Osage, William Chrisman, North Kansas City, Oak Park, Raytown and Staley.

Continuing in the Small Six (Blue Division) with Belton will be Grandview, Kearney, Platte City, Raytown South and Winnetonka.