Even though the 2013 football season is in the books, Blue Springs High School continues to dominate as Kelly Donohoe has been named the Missouri Class 6 Coach of the Year and nine of his Wildcats have earned first or second team all-state recognition on the squad chosen by the Missouri Sports Writers and Broadcasters.

“It's like I told you all season, we have some stallions walking the halls at Blue Springs and we're lucky that most of them play football,” Donohoe said of his 14-0 team that became the first area squad to claim back to back state championships.

“We went into the season with a big target on our back following last year's state championship and the kids really responded. No one knows how hard they worked to win this season state championship in a row. They had one goal this season and that was to be back to back champions and it was a great ride for our fans, our school and our community.”

Members of the Wildcats who made first-team all-state are all-purpose performer (quarterback/punter) Ian Brown (147-219 for 2,518 yards 32 touchdowns, five interceptions), running back and two-time Missouri Gatorade Player of the Year and Simone Award winner Dalvin Warmack, (251 carries, 2228 yards, 30 touchdowns, 9.0 per-carry average), wide receiver Darrius Shepherd (70 receptions, 1,248 yards, 14 touchdowns), offensive lineman Jordan Benson, defensive end and two-time Buck Buchanan Award winner Elijah Lee (82 tackles, 12 sacks, one interception return for a touchdown, 37 tackles for loss), defensive tackle Khalil Davis (91 tackles, seven sacks), defensive back Kaleb Prewett (62 tackles, team-high five interceptions) and linebacker Gunnar Strickland (team-high 93 tackles, five sacks, two interceptions, one returned for a touchdown).

Davis' twin brother Carlos (65 tackles, four sacks), who also plays defensive tackle, earned second team recognition.

Other Class 6 first-team all-state standouts are Blue Springs South linebacker Josh Watson (168 tackles, three sacks), the Suburban Big Six Defensive Player of the Year; and Lee's Summit quarterback Drew Lock.

Second-team members are Blue Springs South offensive lineman Cole West, Lee's Summit running back Casey Slaughter, Lee's Summit defensive lineman Ed Morse and Lee's Summit North linebacker Chase Overton.

• Fort Osage had six first and second team members on the Class 5 all-state squad that was led by seven members of the state champion Lee's Summit West squad.

Fort Osage first-team members are linebacker Nathan Iloilo (64 tackles, two sacks), defensive lineman Tauai Tuala (71 tackles, five sacks) and offensive lineman Dalton Miller. Second-team members are running back Ezra Vaoifi (264 carries for 2,034 yards, 25 rushing touchdowns), defensive back Koida Ejire (53 tackles, one interception) and punter Skylar Thompson.

Lee's Summit West first-team members are quarterback Thomas Ganaden, wide receiver and Otis Taylor Award winner Monte Harrison, offensive lineman and Missouri commitment Kevin Pendleton and defensive back and Mizzou commitment Logan Cheadle.

Second-team members from West are offensive lineman Evan Martin, kicker Tanner Martin and linebacker Austin Workman.

• Raytown South has two second-team Class 4 all state players with offensive lineman Casey McDermott and defensive lineman Raymond Chase.

• Oak Grove has two Class 3 first-team members with offensive lineman Skylar Hulse and linebacker Ethan Fugitt (114 tackles, two sacks). Running back Aaron Graham (181 carries for 1,516 yards and 13 touchdowns) was selected for the second team.

See this story on www.examiner.net for the complete lists.