Fort DECA students

win in competition

Fort Osage Career and Technology Center DECA competed at the DECA district competition on Feb. 12 at the Independence Center. The following students qualified for State DECA competition, which is being held at the Lodge of the Four Seasons at the Lake of the Ozarks this March.

Marketing Research Sydney DeJanes - 1st place Ben McCabe and Nema Pau - 2nd place

Sports Marketing and Promotion Tyler Highland and Dominic Marriott - 1st place Kevin Smith and Devon Williams - 4th place

Advertising Campaign Elizabeth Knauf and Mariah Smith - 3rd place Samantha Daily - 4th place

Fashion Promotion Plan Kyla Ericson, Kiana Valdepena and Nina Terrazas - 3rd place

Professional Selling Events Savanna Plamer - 1st place Kristine Bodine - 3rd place

Entrepreneurship Participating Event Michel Cochran - 4th place


Troester honored

Hazel Grove Elementary principal Chris Troester was selected to receive the 2014 Missouri Association of School Librarians Service Award for School Administrators. He was nominated for the award in recognition of his support of the library media program and reading initiatives at Hazel Grove Elementary. Only one school administrator from Missouri is selected for the award each year. Troester has been principal at Hazel Grove Elementary since 1998.

LS West dance wins state title

The Lee’s Summit West High School Westside Girls dance team competed in the Missouri Dance Team Association State Competition at Kemper Arena in Kansas City on Feb. 15. The team won the 5A State Championship title and also placed first in jazz dance and prop dance. The Westside Girls are coached by Khryssie Hartman, Julie Kemna and Kendra Burke. Team members are: Lindsay Brady, Katie Britton-Mehlisch, Maddy Burkett, Emma Costello, Mackenzie Hayes, Becca Hopkins, Morgan Holecek, Brianna Knipp, Lydia Ganaden, Megan Garcia, Amelia Nill, Elise Nill, Clayre Parson, Alex Prstojevich, Monika Rettler, Haley Schauperl and Tara Stewart.


Allen takes advertising gold

Avila University student Sean Allen of Independence attended the American Advertising Federation Kansas City ADDY Awards. The graphic design major won a Gold Award for his Landfall Navigation brochure, under the supervision of Professor Susan Lawlor and the Silver Award for Notes from Home, under the supervision of Professor Eric Winter.


Truman forensics takes first at Conference

Truman High School’s Speech and Debate students won two out of three possible Red Division Conference Championship plaques on Feb. 14 and 15. The combined students brought home the Overall 1st place sweepstakes plaque in a tie with Lee’s Summit West for Conference Overall Champions.

Truman High School Speech & Debate students' individual awards: (1st team rank is for those who placed first or second in their event; 2nd team rank is for those who placed third through eighth.)

U.S. Extemp - Cate Fitzpatrick, 1st team; Andrew Huber, 2nd team

Original Oratory - Amy Ramirez, 1st team; Kristen Clark, 2nd team

Policy Debate - Nathan Groh, Mitch Herrick, 1st team; Caitlyn Wicks, Vanessa Lewis, 2nd team; Kara Smith, Christian McClure, 2nd team

Lincoln-Douglas Debate - Cate Fitzpatrick, 2nd team; Ethan Williams, 2nd team

Foreign Extemp - Caitlyn Wicks, 1st team; Ethan Williams, 2nd team

Public Forum Debate - Andrew Huber, Scott Bower, 1st team; Karly Kinsey, Alex Millard, 2nd team.

Student Congress - Mitch Herrick, 1st team; Alyssa Dockins, 2nd team.

Poetry - Kelsey Shoup, 1st team; Jaggard Williams, 2nd team.

Storytelling - Mitchell Pritchard, 1st team; Karly Kinsey, 2nd team.

Humorous Interp - Michael Alexander, 1st team; Rachel McGee, 2nd team

Dramatic Interp - Jaggard Williams, 2nd team.

Duo Interp - Shaye Davis/Michael Alexander, 1st team; Alex Millard/Karly Kinsey, 2nd team.

Prose Reading - Kelsey Shoup, 1st team; Rachel McGee, 2nd team.