Three area high school basketball players are among the 10 finalists for the DiRenna Award, given annually by Greater Kansas City Basketball Coaches Association to the top male and female players in the metro area.

Blue Springs South forward Kevin Puryear is the lone junior among the boys finalists, while Truman senior center Becca Jonas and Lee’s Summit North senior forward Imani Johnson are two of the girls finalists.

Puryear’s 19.3 points and 8.5 rebounds per game led the Jaguars to a Suburban Big Six conference title and a 21-5 record. Other boys finalists are Clayton Custer from Blue Valley Northwest (Kan.), Monte Harrison from Lee’s Summit West, Joe Schneider from Lansing (Kan.) and Tyrone Taylor from Grandview.

Jonas, who will play at Drake University next season, averaged 18.5 points, 8.5 rebounds and 4 assists for a Truman team that went 25-2 and won Middle Six and Class 5 district titles. The Patriots were 50-3 the past two seasons and lost in sectionals last week to Johnson’s North team. Johnson, who has signed with Southeast Missouri State, has averaged 17.6 points and 6.7 rebounds for a Broncos team that plays Thursday in the Class 5 state semifinals.

Other girls finalists are Tyler Johnson from Leavenworth (Kan.), Kylee Kopatich from Olathe South (Kan.) and Monique Townson from Staley.

These finalists will be recognized and the winners announced as part of the GKCBCA All-Star Challenge Awards Show scheduled for 7:30 p.m. April 10 at the College Basketball Experience.