The 36th annual Blue Springs Fine Art Show was held March 8 and Vesper Hall. The show attracted 83 artists from around the area, and 162 pieces of art were entered in 11 categories. The exhibition, opened to the public each year, is free. An Awards Reception was held March 8, where the winners were announced and honored.


Black & White

Best of Show – Craig McCord, Bristlecone Moon

1st place – Lee Kirchhoff, Autumn in White 4

2nd place – Ramon Magee, Retired Lobster Pots

3rd place – Terri Morris, Austin Bridge and Downtown

HM – Ramon Magee, Tired But Useful

HM – Carolyn Fox, The Watcher


1st place – Craig McCord, Autumn Flow

2nd place – Robyn Winn, Dogwood Dream

3rd place – Dustin Weant, Paranoid Android

HM – Linda Hanley, Taj Mahal

HM – Gary Winn, A Walk in the Park


1st place – Keith Davenport, Eye to Eye

2nd place – Helen Emanuel, Royalty

3rd place – Keith Davenport, Coming Down

HM – Lorraine Schnarre, Wildlife

HM – Linda Hanley, Leopard Cubs

Fine Arts

1st Best of Show: Opaque – Ryan Delgado, Give Me a Sign

2nd Best of Show: Pastel – Patricia Pummill Betteridge, Country

3rd Best of Show: Drawing – Carole Gray, The Artist Hugh

3D Sculpture

1st place – Larry Sutherland, Moose Antler Carving

2nd place Glen Friend, Yarn Bowell

3rd place – Erlene EC Flowers, Plate Glass

HM – Larry Sutherland, American Flag Carousel Horse


1st place – Darla Zook, Got Milk

2nd place – Fawnda Gunnels, Zebras

3rd place – Trish Bellington, Little Billy

HM – Sharon Allen, Red Rooster


1st place – Brad Ultican, Sunnyside School

2nd place – Faye Weant, Ring Pop Appraisal

3rd place – Carlos Benson, Untitled 1

HM – Brad Ultican, Adam's Dairy Farm Sunrise

HM – Emory Dillon, General Store

Mixed Media

1st place – Dawn C. Thomas, Southwest I

2nd place – John Ulett, A Special Place

3rd place – Norma Marshall, Spirit Song

HM – Norma Marshall, Echo

HM – Fawnda Gunnels, Shine


1st place – Ryan Delgado, The Rapids

2nd place – John Ulett, Hot Stuff

3rd place – Michael S. Cherepak, Burst

HM – Michael S. Cherepak, Snow

HM – Doug Bennett, Routine Double-Play


1st place – Pat Deeter, Burst of Spring

2nd place – Karen Stair, Winter Cedars

3rd place – Virginia Krueger, Autumn Landscape

HM – Jim Dunnaway, Alaska


1st place – Beverly Borgers, A Tobago Breather

2nd place – Judy Gehrlein, Sam

3rd place – Carlos Benson, Untitled 2

HM – Darryl Trulin, Waiting for an Answer


1st place – Ellie Behrmann, Pomegranates

2nd place – Ellie Behrmann, Alone Swan

3rd place – Paula Lyon, Cactus

HM – Trish Bellington, Alaskan Raven

HM – Gail Ishmael, Dazzling Daizys