Those who live within the boundaries of the Raytown School District will be asked on Tuesday, April 8 if the district can borrow $22 million for improving its facilities.

If the ballot question is passed, it is estimated that the district tax levy will not increase from the existing levy of $1.17 per one hundred dollars of assessed property valuation.  The district will issue bonds throughout the loan term to pay the project's debt.

The $22 million project, if passed, will specifically renovate and expand the existing Raytown South athletic facility, as well as furnishing and equipping school facilities throughout district that include: safety and security enhancements, roof replacements, lighting improvements and restrooms, plumbing, electrical and technology upgrades.

Voters living within the Raytown School District in Blue and Brooking Townships of Jackson County, along with Kansas City Ward 15 are eligible to vote on the question. The district includes a small part of southwest Independence.


Neither the Blue Springs or Fort Osage School school boards have challengers to contest three of the open seats each this April election. The incumbents will continue serving another term.

Fort Osage Board of Education incumbents are Kirk Stobart, Gary Thompson and David Shrout.

Blue Springs School Board incumbents are Kay Coen, Dale Falck and Dale Walkup.