In a race between two sitting City Council members, Eileen Weir has defeated Jim Schultz to become the new mayor of Independence. Final unofficial results were Weir 6,604 (56.68 percent) and Schultz 5,021 (43.09 percent).

In the 3rd District race to fill the unexpired term of Myron Paris, Scott Roberson defeated Roxann Thorley. Final results were Roberson 2,795 (65.64 percent) and Thorley 1,458 (34.24 percent). Thorley had been filling the seat temporarily after being chosen over Roberson in a vote of the City Council in October.

– Examiner staff