The Blue Springs and Blue Springs South football teams will compete in separate districts in the new bi-annual assignments announced by the Missouri State High School Activities Association.

Blue Springs and Blue Springs South will remain in Class 6, the state’s top 32 teams based on student enrollment, along with Lee’s Summit North. The assignments will be in effect for the 2014-15 and 2015-16 school years.

The Wildcats, the two-time defending Class 6 state champions, will play in Class 6 District 4, while the Jaguars will play in District 3. That means the teams would not meet again until the state semifinals if they advance that far. South and Blue Springs will continue their regular-season rivalry this fall and that game is scheduled for Sept. 5 at South.

Blue Springs’ District 4 includes rival Rockhurst and Suburban Big Six foes Lee’s Summit North, Lee’s Summit, Raymore-Peculiar and Lee’s Summit West, a new Class 6 team that won last year’s Class 5 state championship. The district also includes Joplin and Springfield Kickapoo.

Blue Springs South will compete in District 3 with Columbia Rock Bridge, Columbia Hickman, Jefferson City, Francis Howell, Fort Zumwalt West, Wentzville Timberland and Troy Buchanan.

Class 5 will feature 53 schools, ranging in enrollment from 1,233 students to 1,790. Area schools Fort Osage, Truman, William Chrisman and Raytown will play in a six-team District 7 along with North Kansas City and Winnetonka.

Class 4, which has 64 schools from 686 to 1,205 students, will feature two area schools. Grain Valley will play in District 6 with Raytown South, Center, Grandview, Harrisonville, Nevada, Pleasant Hill and Warrensburg. Van Horn will be in District 8 with St. Joseph Benton, Excelsior Springs, Kearney, St. Joseph Lafayette, Platte County, Savannah and Smithville.

Oak Grove remains in Class 3 (enrollments 420-685) and will play in District 7 with rival Odessa, O’Hara, Kansas City Central, Clinton, Hogan Prep, Pembroke Hill and Kansas City Southwest.

Teams accrue points in the nine-game regular season for district seedings, and district playoffs begin in Week 10 with the No. 1 seed meeting the bottom seed and so forth. In Class 5 District 7, the top two teams will receive first-round byes because the district has just six teams.

In basketball, all area teams were put in Class 5 or Class 4.

Class 5 will include Blue Springs, Blue Springs South, Fort Osage, Truman, William Chrisman, Lee’s Summit North, Lee’s Summit, Lee’s Summit West and Raytown.

Blue Springs and Blue Springs South will be paired in District 9 with Columbia Rock Bridge, Columbia Hickman and Sedalia Smith-Cotton. Truman and Chrisman are in District 14 with Lee’s Summit North, Lee’s Summit and Raytown. Fort Osage will be in District 15 with Liberty, Liberty North, North Kansas City and Winnetonka.

In Class 4, Grain Valley and Oak Grove will play in District 14 with Raytown South, Odessa, Grandview and Marshall. Van Horn will be in District 15 with Center, KC East, Excelsior Springs, Lincoln Prep and KC Northeast.