The Examiner's boys and girls players of the year headline the Missouri Sports Writers and Broadcasters All-State team that was announced today.

Truman's Becca Jonas and Blue Springs South's Kevin Puryear are Class 5 first-team selections along with Lee's Summit North's Imani Johnson, a member of The Examiner's All-Area team.

Truman's Abby Hix and Fort Osage's Raven Bunn, who were also members of The Examiner's All-Area team, are Class 5 girls second-team honorees.

Tricia Lillygren, The Examiner's Girls Coach of the Year, is the Class 5 Girls Missouri Coach of the Year.

Puryear averaged 19.2 points and 8.6 rebounds per game for the Jaguars, who finished 21-5. The junior forward set the school single-season records for rebounds (223) and free throws made (145) while shooting 72 percent from the line.

Puryear will enter his senior season at South just nine points shy 1,000 career points. He was the only junior finalist for the DiRenna Award, which goes to the best player in the metro area.

“All the postseason recognition will just make me work that much harder next year,” Puryear said.

Jonas, the DiRenna Award winner who will play at Drake University, averaged 17.9 points, 8.3 rebounds and 2.1 assists per game in her senior season for the 25-2 Patriots.

Hix, also a senior, averaged 13.8 points, 1.6 assists and 1.2 steals for the Patriots. She set a school single-season record for 3-pointers with 69 while breaking the school's all-time 3-point record with 205. She helped lead Truman to a combined 50-3 record the past two seasons.

Both Jonas and Hix, who signed with Georgia Southern, surpassed 1,000-career points this past season.

Johnson led Lee's Summit North to a 24-6 record and the Class 5 state championship game, where the Broncos fell to state top-ranked defending state champion Columbia Rock Bridge.

Johnson, a DiRenna Award finalist, averaged 17.8 points, 6.6 rebounds, 1.5 blocks and 1.1 steals per game. The Southeast Missouri State signee set the career scoring mark for North earlier this season.

Bunn, heading to Northwest Missouri State, broke the 1,000-point barrier this season for the Indians.

“To end my career with these postseason honors is humbling,” Jonas said, “but I would trade them both for a state championship. We never made it to the final four, and that's disappointing, but I wouldn't trade my time at Truman for anything.”

Lee's Summit West's Monte Harrison and Lee's Summit's Drew Lock are Class 5 boys first-team members. Raytown South's Tyrone Gibbs is a Class 4 boys second-team member while Summit Christian Academy's Taurin Hughes is a Class 3 boys second-team member.