Reifsteck receives

achievement honor

Kaitlyn Reifsteck of Independence received the Scholastic Achievement Award at the 2013-14 annual Student Awards Ceremony held at College of the Ozarks in Point Lookout, Missouri.

Awards are given based on outstanding accomplishments in the areas of academics, work and character.

McCarty honored

at Beloit College

Rachel McCarty of Independence received the John W. Bennett ‘37 Prize during the Honors Day Convocation at Beloit College on May 7. The Honors Day Convocation is an annual event held to honor outstanding Beloit College students and their accomplishments.

Beloit College is a residential, liberal arts college located 90 miles northwest of Chicago.

Foster elected

house president

Richard Foster of Independence has been elected as Graceland University House President of Cheville for the 2014-15 school year. Richard was nominated by a house preference vote, then passed a rigorous case study and board interview process. Richard will offer leadershp and support to the members of Cheville and to the entire Graceland University student body.

Graceland University is a liberal arts university in Lamoni, Iowa, and is sponsored by Community of Christ.

Lee’s Summit

Stephenson on

Brevard honors list

Blake Stephenson of Lee’s Summit was named to Brevard College’s honor roll for the spring semester. To be eligible, students must be enrolled full-time and earn a grade point average of 3.0 to 3.49 during the semester.

Brevard College is in Brevard, North Carolina.


on dean's list

Ashley Christopherson of Lee’s Summit has the made the dean's list for Franklin & Marshall College’s fall semester.

Dean’s list status is awarded to students who have successfully completed their course work with a semester grade point average of 3.5 or higher out of a possible 4.0 score.

Franklin & Marshall is a residential undergraduate liberal arts college located in Lancaster, Pennsylvania.

Eastern Jackson County

Two recognized

at Central Missouri

Hannah Dykstra of Lee’s Summit and Michael Stricken of Independence were recently presented Student Excellence Awards from the University of Central Missouri’s Department of Music.

The award recognizes students who have demonstrated outstanding musicianship, scholarship and service to the College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences. Recipients were nominated by faculty from the UCM Department of Music and receive a $250 cash award and a certificate of recognition. Dykstra is a junior vocal music education major and Stricken is an instrumental music education major.

- Brandon Dumsky