Comcast Foundation scholarships

Kaylee Chappelow of Blue Springs High School, Audrey Tinoco of Fort Osage High School and Joyeyse Mushatsi of William Chrisman High School were the recipients of the 2014 Leaders and Achievers Scholarship Awards by The Comcast Foundation. The students were honored for their leadership, academic achievement and community service. They were recognized at an Achievers Scholarship reception held at Union Station in downtown Kansas City June 5.

The Comcast Leaders and Achievers Scholarship Program provides one-time $1,000 scholarships to high school seniors who strive to achieve their potential, are catalysts for a postive change in their communities and involved in their schools and serve as models for their fellow students.

Thomas recognized at NWMSU

Brandon Thomas, a senior majoring in physical education from Independence, was recently recognized during Northwest Missouri State University’s as a recipient of the Dyche Family Scholarship. Thomas was one of about 125 students recognized at a ceremony alongside many of the donors who supported them through scholarships.

Park appoints chancellor

The Park University Board of Trustees appointed Michael H. Droge as Park University’s chancellor, effective July 1.

As chancellor, Droge said in a release that he will be seeking to identify new academic partnerships for Park, with special attention to developing new external relationships.

“Park University has grown as a university system with a national footprint and a global reach,” he said in a release. “Considering the many new opportunities coming our way, I am excited about serving as chancellor, which will provide me additional time to engage Park’s constituents, especially externally and with Park alumni.”

Droge arrived at the university in 2002 and has served as president since 2009. He previously was the university’s provost and senior vice president.

- Brandon Dumsky