University of Saint Mary

Katherine Alexander, JoLynn Glorioso, Victoria Toplikar, all from Independence, have been named to the Spring 2014 Dean’s Honor List at University of Saint Mary. The USM students ended the semester with a grade point average of 3.5 or better.

USM is a Catholic university located in Leavenworth, Kansas.

Emporia State University

Catalina Bissell of Blue Springs was among more than 100 students named to the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Spring 2014 Dean’s List at Emporia State University. To qualify for the list, students must earn a semester grade point average that puts them in the 10 percent of all students enrolled in full-time undergraduate work within the college and have a cumulative 3.5 GPA for all Emporia State courses.

Anita Fuller of Independence and Amanda Self of Blue Springs were among the 610 students who made the honor roll at ESU. To qualify for the semester honor roll, students must earn a minimum 3.80 semester grade point average in at least 12 graded hours.

ESU is in Emporia, Kansas.

St. Ambrose University

Nicolas Vlasin of Independence received third place in the “Feature” category for his work at SAUtv. SAUtv is the television outlet of SAU’s Communication Center, producing local shows and providing programs with an education and fine arts focus. Programs include “Dateline SAU,” a student-produced newscast for university events, and live basketball and volleyball game and pre-game shows.

SAU is in Davenport, Iowa.

Truman State University

David Clark of Independence graduated as an Honors Scholar at Truman State University’s May 10 commencement ceremonies. He received a Bachelor of Science degree in political science, with minors in mathematics, philosophy and religion.

An Honors Scholars is awarded to graduating seniors who have completed five approved courses, with at least one from each of the four areas: mathematics, natural science, social science and humanities. They must achieve a grade point average of at least 3.5 in those courses.

TSU is in Kirksville, Missouri.

Clarkson University

Brian Billings of Independence, a graduate of Truman High School, will attend Clarkson University in Potsdam, New York. He will be majoring in business and will begin studying at Clarkson in the fall.

Clarkson is nationally recognized research university for undergraduates with select graduate programs in signature areas of academic excellence directed toward the world’s pressing issues.

Wingate University

Austin Lucas of Jackson County was recognized for demonstrating outstanding academic achievement during the spring 2014 semester at Wingate University by being named to the Dean’s List.

To qualify for the Dean’s List requires a grade point average of at least 3.30 on at least 12 quality point academic hours with no grades below a “C.”

Northern State University

Cheyenne Hoist of Blue Springs High School was a recipient of a $5,000 WolfPACT Scholarship to Northern State University in Aberdeen, South Dakota. Students entering their freshman year at NSU are eligible for various funding amounts based on their ACT scores.

Northwest Missouri State

Connor Adams, a sophomore majoring in pre-engineering from Independence, was recently recognized during the Northwest Missouri State University spring academic celebration as a recipient of the Dr. Jim Smeltzer Scholarship. He was one of about 125 students recognized at the ceremony alongside many of the donors who support them through scholarships.