The Missouri Mavericks are sponsoring a contest in which fans can select the top 10 players in the history of the successful CHL franchise, and The Examiner is playing a big role in the event that will surely be a fan favorite.

The top 30 players, from which fans can select their 10 favorites, were introduced in Tuesday’s Examiner.

The final team will be introduced on The Examiner’s sports pages shortly after the July 11 voting deadline.

For 10 days, a Maverick player will be featured, counting down the top 10 vote-getters.

“The Examiner has been there from day one for the Missouri Mavericks and has played a huge part in welcoming us to Eastern Jackson County and Independence,” Mavericks president and general manager Brent Thiessen said Wednesday.

“It’s fun to look back over a five-year period and remember some of the great guys who have played for the Mavericks. We are happy to relive those moments with The Examiner.”

There will be a handful of players who should be locks for the all-time team, like CHL icon and former MVP and scoring champion Sebastien Thinel and former fan favorite, goaltender Charlie Effinger.

But what about a young defenseman like Henrik Ødegaard, who played just one season in Missouri but represented his team and Eastern Jackson County when he played for his native Norway in the most recent Winter Olympics?

How about goaltending standouts like Robbie Nolan, Mike Clemente and Shane Owen? Where does Carlyle “The Grim Sleeper” Lewis stand in the history of the team? And you can’t forget about the importance of defensive standouts like David Simoes and Dave Pszenyczny.

Here is the list of players compiled by the Mavericks. You can read about each player and examine his career and Missouri stats at

Obi Aduba, Eric Castonguay Jeff Christian, Mike Clemente, Andrew Courtney, John-Scott Dickson, Charlie Effinger, Blake Forsythe, Ryan Jardine, Trevor Kell, Colt King, Jared Lavendar, Carlyle Lewis, Ed McGrane, Kenton Miller, Robbie Nolan, Henrik Odegaard, Shane Owen, Derek Pallardy, Dave Pszenyczny, Cole Ruwe, David Simoes, Nick Sirota, Brandon Smith, Sebastien Thinel, Kellan Tochkin, Bill Vandermeer, Evan Vossen, Mike Wakita and Simon Watson.

If you don’t see a past or present favorite player on the list, simply submit a write-in candidate at

The final 10 players will be featured on trading cards that will be given to fans in packs of five at two regular-season games during the upcoming season.