The Lee’s Summit Outlaws have claimed the American Legion Zone 2 West title for 2014.

The Outlaws swept the Independence VFW Post 1000 Bears 11-1 and 13-0 in a pair of five-inning mercy-rule games Monday night at Legacy Park to clinch the title with a 16-6 mark.

The Lee’s Summit Post 189 Pirates (18-22), who were swept by Blue Springs Post 499 Fike Monday, finished second at 14-8.

The Outlaws, who improved to 29-17 overall, scored three runs in the first inning and five in the second to take control in the first game against the Bears.

Quentin Bradford was 2 for 3 with three RBIs and two runs and Brett Conrow went 2 for 2 with a double, a walk and RBI and three runs scored to lead the Outlaws. Winning pitcher Kameron Gray added a two-run single.

Aaron Henry had the Bears’ only two hits and the lone RBI for the Bears, who finished the season 6-32 overall and 2-20 in Zone 2 West play. The Bears have dropped out of this weekend’s Zone 2 West Tournament because of a lack of players.

The Outlaws led 5-0 when they ended the second game early with an eight-run outburst in the fifth inning.

Herb Byers went 2 for 4 with three RBIs and three runs scored, Dalton Woods was 3 for 3 with a double, a walk and three runs, and Brock Overton went 2 for 3 with an RBI and a run to spark the Outlaws.

Eli Henderson got the Bears’ lone hit and a walk.

P.J. Seufert worked two innings for the win to improve to 6-3 on the season. Will Fisher suffered the loss.