There has been a lot of talk about how the Central Hockey League would handle postseason play this season with just seven teams participating in regular-season action.

The seven teams – the Missouri Mavericks, Allen Americans, Brampton Beast, Quad City Mallards, Rapid City Rush, Tulsa Oilers and Wichita Thunder – will all compete in the Berry Conference.

The postseason quest for the Ray Miron Presidents Cup will include the top six teams, with the top two ranked teams, based on total points, earning byes in the opening round.

The No. 3 seed will play No. 6 and No. 4 will play No. 5 in the first round, with the two winning clubs advancing to the conference semifinals against the top two seeds. Teams will be reseeded in the semifinals with the regular season points champion playing the remaining team with the lowest point total from the regular season. Home ice advantage will belong to the teams with the higher regular-season points.

The CHL’s regular season begins on Friday, Oct. 24 and concludes on Saturday, April 4 with the playoffs beginning the week of April 6. The Mavericks open their sixth season Oct. 24 at Brampton, Ontario, and the home opener is Nov. 8 against Rapid City.