ATLANTA – A'ja Wilson of South Carolina repeated as player of the year, Alabama freshman Jordan Lewis took the newcomer award and Missouri's Robin Pingeton claimed the coaching honor on The Associated Press All-Southeastern women's basketball team announced Wednesday.

Wilson was a unanimous choice as the league's top player for the second year in a row after leading the No. 4 Gamecocks (27-4) to their third straight SEC championship. The junior forward ranks third in scoring (17.6 points per game), fourth in field-goal percentage (58.7), ninth in rebounding (7.6) and first in blocks (2.6).

Despite missing two games with a sprained ankle, Wilson also claimed a spot on the first team for the third consecutive season, joined by another unanimous selection, Kentucky's Makayla Epps, along with Missouri's Sophie Cunningham, Mississippi State's Victoria Vivians and Florida's Ronni Williams

Pingeton was named on every ballot for coach of the year, her reward for guiding the Tigers to a 21-10 mark that included an 11-5 finish in the SEC – the school's first winning mark against conference foes since joining in 2012.

Lewis, a 5-foot-7 point guard, stood out on one of the SEC's weaker teams. She averaged 9.7 points per game and ranked fifth in the league in assists (4.0).

The 2017 AP All-SEC women's team, with name, school, position, height, class and hometown (u-denotes unanimous selections):


• u-Makayla Epps, Kentucky, G, 5-10, Sr. , Lebanon, Kentucky

• u-A'ja Wilson, South Carolina, F, 6-5, Jr., Hopkins, South Carolina

• Sophie Cunningham, Missouri, G, 6-1, So., Columbia, Missouri

• Victoria Vivians, Mississippi State, F, 6-1, Jr., Carthage, Mississippi

• Ronni Williams, Florida, F, 6-0, Sr., Daytona Beach, Florida


• Alaina Coates, South Carolina, C, 6-4, Sr., Irmo, South Carolina

• Diamond DeShields, Tennessee, G, 6-1, Jr., Norcross, Georgia

• Curtyce Knox, Texas A&M, G, 5-7, Sr., Humble, Texas

• Evelyn Akhator, Kentucky, F, 6-3, Sr., Lagos, Nigeria

• Mercedes Russell, Tennessee, C, 6-6, Jr., Springfield, Oregon

• Morgan William, Mississippi State, G, 5-5, Jr., Birmingham, Alabama

Player of the Year — u-A'ja Wilson, South Carolina

Coach of the Year — u-Robin Pingeton, Missouri

Newcomer of the Year — Jordan Lewis, Alabama