Kim Roentved, who has returned to the Kansas City Comets as the team’s head coach, announced the first nine players to sign for the 2017-18 season.

Seven of the players return from last season, while the other two have spent time in a Comets uniform. Per team and league policies, terms of the agreements were not disclosed.

Headlining the list of returnees is veteran Leo Gibson, who also adds assistant coach to his title. Gibson has been a central member of the Comets since the team returned to action in 2010. Gibson is the team’s all-time leader with 159 goals (182 including playoffs) and 143 assists (151 including playoffs).

“Leo has been one of the game’s greats since he first joined the team,” Roentved said. “I’m so glad that he was willing to step into this role to help me and the team.”

Joining Gibson from last year’s roster are veterans Lucas Rodriguez and Bryan Perez. The midfield duo accounted for 29 goals and 13 assists last season. Guerrero Pino, a 2016-17 MASL All-Rookie team midfielder, and All-Rookie honorable mention Ignacio “Nacho” Flores will also be returning to the Comets this season, along with second-year players Carlos Trombini and Gui Gomes.

Pat Kelly and Kiel Williams are also returning. Kelly was a member of the 2014-15 Comets and played the past two seasons for the Cedar Rapids Rampage. Williams was also a member of the Comets’ 2014-15 team that went undefeated in the regular season that year. Williams scored eight goals with five assists through two seasons with the team.

“We have a lot more announcements to make,” said Roentved, who coached the Comets the first six years the team was in Independence. “We’re excited about the upcoming season, and want our fans to get excited, too.”