Grain Valley and Smithville have officially been added to the Greater Kansas City Suburban Conference.

And the two new schools will play in the conference’s Blue Division, which contains the league’s smallest schools.

The Suburban Conference underwent the two-year alignment last week, adding Grain Valley, which had played in the Missouri River Valley Conference West, and Smithville of the Midland Empire.

Grain Valley and Smithville will join Grandview, Kearney, Platte County, Raytown South and Winnetonka in the Blue Division.

Under the new alignment, the Suburban Gold – which had the conference’s largest schools by enrollment numbers – will now be six teams instead of seven like the last two school years.

Blue Springs, Blue Springs South, Lee's Summit North, Lee's Summit West, Park Hill and Raymore-Peculiar will remain in the Gold, while Lee’s Summit will drop from the Gold to the Red.

The Red Division will now have seven teams with Lee’s Summit moving down and Staley moving up from the White Division. Truman will remain in the White along with Liberty, Liberty North, Park Hill South and St. Joseph Central.

Fort Osage and William Chrisman will remain in the White Division, which will also be seven schools. Raytown moves down from the Red while Belton moves up from the Blue. North Kansas City, Oak Park and Ruskin will also remain in the White.