The Van Horn wrestling team got its season off to a good start following a 56-21 win over crosstown rival Truman Tuesday.

For the Falcons Noah Olsen (106 pounds), Payton Moses (120), Preston Murphy (132), David Krantz (138) and Billy Ellhof (152) all won by forfeit.

Ethan Moses took a 20-19 decision at 113, Marcos Murphy (126) won by fall at 1:30, Xavier Depew (145) won by pin at the 5-minute mark, Kenny Maluia (170) won by pin at 5:25 and Jarod Huddleston (185) won by pin in 20 seconds for Van Horn.

For Truman, Nick Porter won by a 15-10 decision; and Chase Schroeder (182), Sterling Trawick (195) and Jim Molt (220) all won by pin.

“I think we wrestled well for the first dual,” Van Horn wrestling coach Steve McGee said. “We saw some things that we need to work on but overall I think we did OK. We will get back in the practice room tomorrow and put some more work in.”