The Truman Heartland Community Foundation on Saturday will recognize area citizens for their generosity toward their communities.

The Truman Heartland Community Foundation on Saturday will recognize area citizens for their generosity toward their communities.

Thirteen area residents will receive awards from The Truman Heartland Foundation for being named citizens of the year. The men and women are from eight area communities in the Kansas City area.

The community foundation will present the “Heartland Humanitarian of the Year Award” to John and Nancy Kimak. Also, Centerpoint Medical Center will receive the “Corporate Citizen of the Year Award.”

Each year, the foundation holds the gala called “Toast to our Towns.” The event starts at 5:30 p.m. at the Independence Events Center.

Art Phillips
Blue Springs
Phillips owns and operates 10 McDonald’s restaurants and is recognized throughout Blue Springs as a business leader and philanthropist. He has received numerous business awards and is the founding member of the Blue Springs School District’s Adopt-A-School program and a founding business sponsor of the Blue Springs School of Economics.


Dale and Sheila Arnold
Grain Valley
The Arnolds have given to fundraising projects for organizations in Grain Valley for more than 30 years. Along with a commitment to the firefighting community. Dale has served on the Fire Fighters Memorial Foundation of Missouri Board and the Fire Fighters Historical Preservation Foundation of Missouri. Sheila has been an active member of the Fire Fighters Association of Missouri Auxiliary. Together, the couple has given more than $20,000 to charitable programs.


Robert J. ‘Bob’ Reeds
Reeds has received proclamations and certificates from mayors, governors, and senators on both sides of the state line. He received recognition from the United States Department of Labor Secretary and Missouri Speaker of the House. Currently, Reeds is on the Truman Awards Committee and works with organizations to promote the development of the Little Blue Parkway and Valley.


Floyd and Frances Evans
Oak Grove
The couple, who have lived in Oak Grove since 1971, have volunteering in many organizations and serving in numerous leadership positions. They helped design and build the Oak Grove Civic Center and pool and have served on the board of the Oak Grove Senior Citizens organization. They are lifetime members of the Oak Grove Historical Society


Kenneth Fleischmann
Fleischmann is an active member of the Raytown Emergency Assistance Program and, along with fellow citizen of the year, Kenneth Whisler, developed and led a full-time workforce of volunteers to construct a building for REAP. They volunteered 4,500 hours of community service in 2 1/2 years. Fleischmann also has been with the Kansas City Board of Trade for 37 years and served on the organization’s board of directors.


Kenneth Whisler
Whisler has been a member and volunteer for the Kansas City Turners Organization for more than 35 years, serving on the board for 15 of those years. He participates in local youth sports activities by coaching softball, baseball and volleyball. Whisler is secretary of the Men’s 50-Plus Softball League and a member of the Presentation Catholic Church. Whisler helped Kenneth Fleischmann in constructing the Raytown Emergency Assistance Program building.


Jim Rittel
Sugar Creek
Rittel has dedicated 41 years to Boy Scouts, serving Troop 221 based in St. Mary’s Catholic Church. Currently, he’s the institutional head for the troop. For 41 summers, he attended the troop’s summer camp. Rittel is an active member at St. Mary’s Parish and the Knights of Columbus.


John P. Ryan
Sugar Creek
Ryan, along with Rittel, has served 54 years to Boy Scouts. Currently, he’s the scoutmaster and has been for the past 16 years for Troop 221. Ryan is a certified rehabilitation counselor, receiving a lifetime achievement award from the Missouri Rehabilitation Association in 2007. Ryan is active in his church and serves on the finance committee.


Shirley Bond
Lake Winnebago
Bond, a lifelong resident of the Kansas City area, has made civic contributions to Lake Winnebago. She became city clerk in 1999 and served 11 years at the job. She was known for her cost-cutting measures that saved the city money. Bond served on the Greater Kansas City Camp Fire Board and was a volunteer leader for 10 years.


Jon Ellis
Lee’s Summit
Ellis is involved in serving as president and chief executive officer of Paradise Park Inc., and a board member of Lee’s Summit Medical Center, Centerpoint Medical Center and president of the Blue Springs School of Economics. He is involved with Lee’s Summit Rotary, Lee’s Summit Chamber of Commerce, the Optimist Club and Powell Gardens.


Vicky Cundiff
Lee’s Summit
Cundiff and her husband, Jon, started a business called Lee’s Summit Turf’s Up Lawn Service in 1987. Today, the business,called Weed Man, has expanded to 13 franchises in seven states. Vicky serves on the Lee’s Summit Economic Development Council Advisory Board and is this year’s recipient of the Rotary Club of Lee’s Summit Service Above Self award.