Filing concluded Tuesday for state, county and federal elections. With term limits forcing several local leaders out of their state offices, many of the races for a spot in Jefferson are up for grabs. In any race with more than one candidate from a particular political party, a primary election will be Aug. 3 (deadline to register is July 7), and the general election is Nov. 2 (deadline to register is Oct. 6).


State Senate – District 8

Three Republicans will face off in primary for the hunt for 8th District of the Missouri Senate.

Bryan Pratt, Blue Springs, Will Kraus, Lee’s Summit, and Gary Dusenberg, Blue Springs are running.

Libertarian Kevin Parr, Grain Valley, also filed.

Sen. Matt Bartle currently holds the seat.


Missouri House – District 41

No one filed to challenge state Rep. Shalonn “Kiki” Curls, D-Kansas City, in the 41st District.

Curls is serving her second two-year term. State representatives are allowed a maximum of four terms.

The district is mostly in east Kansas City, roughly between Truman Road and 39th Street, and also includes a portion of western Independence, bounded by 23rd Street on the north, Hardy Avenue on the east and 31st Street and U.S. 40 on the south.


Missouri House – District 49

No one filed to challenge state Rep. Tom McDonald, D-Independence, in the 49th District.

McDonald is serving his first term.

The district includes much of western Independence and roughly the northern half of Raytown.

Missouri House – District 51

State Rep. Ray Salva, D-Sugar Creek, will be term limited at the end of the 2010 session.

Democratic candidates who filed are Travis Richey, Jeremy Ploeger and Ira Anders, all of Independence.

Independence resident Jeff Workman is the lone Republican candidate.

Michael Cogan of Independence filed as a Constitution Party candidate.

Kansas City resident Kevin L. Kobe filed as a Libertarian candidate.

The 51st District serves northwestern Independence, Sugar Creek and a small portion of Kansas City.


Missouri House – District 52

State Rep. Paul LeVota, D-Independence, will be term limited at the end of the 2010 session.

Independence residents Noel Torpey and Joel Blevins filed as Republican candidates for the seat.

Democratic candidates who filed are Robbie Makinen of Kansas City and Chyanne Lockhart Cardarella of Independence.

The 52nd District serves portions of eastern Independence and northern Lee’s Summit, including Lakewood.

Missouri House – District 53

Two Republicans and a Democrat have filed for state representative for District 53.

All three candidates are Independence residents.

Democrat Diane Egger and Republicans Anna Lynn Vogel and Brent Lasater have filed for the seat now held by Curt Dougherty, who cannot run again because of term limits.

The district covers most of northeast Independence.


Missouri House – District 54

Only two candidates have filed for the 54th District seat, meaning there will be no August primary.

Candidates are Democrat John Bullard Jr., Buckner, and Republican Jeanie Lauer, Blue Springs.

Current State Rep. Gary Dusenberg, R-Blue Springs, will be term limited at the end of the 2010 session.

The 54th District serves Blue Springs, north of Interstate 70 east to the Lafayette County line as well as portions of southeast Independence.


Missouri House – District 55

One Grain Valley Libertarian has dropped out of the Missouri 55th District race, only to be replaced by another, and another Republican has filed.

Mike Parker, of Blue Springs, filed on March 10 to run as a Republican. He will face Blue Springs City Council Member Sheila Solon in the Republican primary. Solon filed on the first day, Feb. 23.

It should be noted that Parker is not the Michael Parker who serves on the Blue Springs Planning Commission.

Democrat Clay Rodgers, of Blue Springs, filed Feb. 23, and is the lone Democrat in the race.

Libertarian Jeffrey Hoorfar, Blue Springs, filed March 17 and is the only Libertarian.

State Rep. Bryan Pratt, R-Blue Springs, will be term limited at the end of the 2010 session. The 55th District serves Blue Springs south of Interstate 70 east to the Lafayette County line.

Missouri House – District 56

In the race for State Rep. District 56, which was vacated by Brian Yates last year, a Republican and Democrat have filed.

Dave Coffman of Lee’s Summit is the Democrat, and Mike Cierpiot of Lee’s Summit, is the Republican.

The district covers most of southeast Jackson County, including eastern Lee’s Summit and a portion of southwest Blue Springs.