• School transfer is official

  • Funds and titles were transfered on Tuesday afternoon.

    • email print
  • It is final. The Independence School District is now the proud owner of eight schools in western Independence and Sugar Creek.
    Tuesday afternoon, the eight facilities involved in the transfer from the Kansas City School District officially become property of Independence. The transfer puts an end to all legal challenges from Kansas City as well as the School District of Kansas City Building Corporation.
    “I am happy to close this chapter of the school transfer,” said Jim Hinson, superintendent of the Independence School District. “Our full focus can now turn to making sure the students in those schools get the best education possible.”
    The transfer was completed after Independence wired just more than $12.8 million to the Kansas City district. In return, Kansas City gave the titles for the eight buildings to Independence. These buildings include Van Horn High School, Nowlin Middle School; Mount Washington, North Rock Creek/Korte, Three Trails, Fairmount and Sugar Creek elementary schools as well as the Anderson Building, which has been vacant for years.
    The exchange of money and titles follows a decision that was made two weeks ago by Jackson County circuit judge Jack Grate, who awarded full possession of all eight buildings to the Independence School District. Kansas City has not appealed the decision and has not announced any plans to do so in the future.
    In the days since the decision, six of the buildings has seen extensive renovations, primarily through the district’s community event Extreme School Makeover. The only two untouched are the Anderson Building and Mount Washington Elementary. No decision has been made as to the future of the first building, and because of the cost to renovate Mount Washington, it will not open this year.