Filing concluded Tuesday for state, county and federal elections. With term limits forcing several local leaders out of their state offices, many of the races for a spot in Jefferson are up for grabs. In any race with more than one candidate from a particular political party, a primary election will be Aug. 3 (deadline to register is July 7), and the general election is Nov. 2 (deadline to register is Oct. 6).

The following is a compilation of candidates in area races.

U.S. Congress – 4th District

Two Democrats, 10 Republicans, one Constitution candidate and two Libertarians are in the race for Congress in Missouri’s 4th District.

Democrat Ike Skelton of Lexington, who is serving his 17th term in Congress, has filed for re-election. Fellow Democrat Leonard Steinman of Jefferson City will face him in the Aug. 3 primary.

Ten Republicans are in the race: James Scholz of Warrensburg, Arthur John Madden of Malta Bend, Vicky Hartzler of Harrisonville, Roy Viessman of Jefferson City, Brian Riley of Marshall, Bill Stouffer of Napton, Brian Clark of Cleveland, Eric James McElroy of Tunas, James (Bryant) Walker of Jefferson City, and Jeff Parnell of Rogersville.

Greg Cowan of Lebanon has filed for the Constitution Party.

Jason Michael Braun of Harrisonville and Thomas Holbrook II of Warrensburg filed as Libertarians.

The district covers much of central and western Missouri and covers 25 counties, and it includes Oak Grove, Grain Valley and part of Blue Springs.


U.S. Congress – 5th District

Five Republicans, a Libertarian, and a Constitution Party candidate have filed for the 5th district U.S. Representative.

Incumbent Congressman Emanuel Cleaver II, of Kansas City, filed for re-election. He has no Democratic opposition.

Republicans who filed were Patrick Haake, of Kansas City, Ralph Sheffield, of Kansas City, Jacob Turk of Lee’s Summit, Jerry Fowler of Richmond, and Ron Shawd of Lee’s Summit.

Libertarian Randall D. “Randy” Langkraehr, of Warrensburg filed as a Libertarian.

Dave Lay, Blue Springs, filed with the Constitution Party.

The 5th District covers most of Jackson County, including Kansas City, Lee’s Summit, Raytown and most of Independence.


U.S Congress – 6th District

Two Republicans and two Democrats have filed to serving the U.S. House of Representatives in the 6th District.

Republican candidates include incumbent Sam Graves, Tarkio, and Christopher Ryan, Liberty.

Democratic candidates are Theodore Rights, Hamilton, and Clint Hylton, Polo.

The 6th District covers most of northwest and north-central Missouri including most of Blue Springs and other parts of Eastern Jackson County.

Graves was first elected in 2000. Prior to that, he served as state representative and state senator in the 1990s.

Hylton is an insurance agent with Shelter Insurance in Excelsior Springs.

Rights is a physician with a family practice in Hamilton, Polo and Jamesport.

Searches for Christopher Ryan turned up no information on the candidate.