• Cultural Arts Coalition recognizes creative pursuits

  • Dozens of community members were recognized during the Cultural Arts Coalition’s Biennial Recognition Dinner.

    • email print
  • Dozens of community members were recognized during the Cultural Arts Coalition’s Biennial Recognition Dinner.
    The dinner was April 21 at Vivilore Restaurant and Gallery. The master of ceremonies was Jon M. Donald and the speaker was Harlan Brownlee, president and CEO of the Arts Council of Metropolitan Kansas City. Students with the Ballet Conservatory of Independence provided entertainment.
    The Cultural Arts Coalition of Eastern Jackson County evolved from the Independence Cultural Arts Coalition that was founded in 1989. The coalition is the umbrella arts advocacy organization that represents arts, cultural and historic organizations. Among those attending this year’s dinners were Blue Springs Mayor Carson Ross, Independence Mayor Don Reimal, Lee’s Summit Mayor Randal Rhoads and Raytown Mayor David Bower.
    CAC Organizations Awards
    • Ability Arts of Missouri - Nancy Rogers, Chair - President’s Award and Levetta J. Sneathen, Outstanding Service Award.
    • Ballet Conservatory - Ulla Ames, Distinguished Service Award and Allen Ames, Crusader of the Arts.
    • Bingham-Waggoner Historical Society - Janice Pearson, Distinguished Service Award.
    • Blue Springs Arts Council - Kim Jones-Gladstone, President Award and Amy Moyer, Outstanding Service Award.
    • Blue Springs Art League - Carolyn Gordanier, President Award.
    • City of Blue Springs Public Arts Commissioner - Eleanor Frasier, Distinguished Service Award and Carson Ross, Crusader of the Arts.
    • BoBettes at MCC-Longview - Joyce S. Kuhn, Tony Award and Arlene Clark, Tony Award.
    • Community Association for the Arts - Joyce Kuhn, President Award and Phil Dunham, Grammy Award.
    • Cultural Arts Coalition EJC - Joyce Kuhn, Distinguished Service Award; Joe Allen, Outstanding Service Award; Velma Jeanette Tyson, Distinguished Service Award and Felicia Roth, Outstanding Service Award.
    • Encore Theatre - Sharon Wyzard, Tony Award and Kathy Johnson, Tony Award.
    • Englewood Arts District - Kara Paris, President Award and Diane Houk, Distinguished Service Award
    • George Caleb Bingham Academy of the Arts - Ron Clemons, Distinguished Service Award and Molly Clemons, Distinguished Service Award.
    • Heritage Philharmonic/Independence Symphony - Rick Henks, president Award ad Margery Wade, Distinguished Service Award.
    • Independence Art Association - Pat Pummill Betteridge, President Award and David Jackson, Outstanding Service Award.
    • Independence Young Matrons - Roma Meinsen, President Award and Norma Young Neill, Distinguished Service Award.
    • Independence Parks and Recreation - Jodi L. Wynn, President Award and John and Sandy Dempsey, Crusader of the Arts/Outstanding Service Award.
    • Japanese Sister City Commission - Twyla Olson-Hahn, President Award; Gerald Hancock, Outstanding Service Award and Lana White, Distinguished Service Award.
    • Music/Arts Institute - Mark Lee, Grammy Award; Jon M. Donald, Grammy Award and Melissa Mader Schaefer, Grammy Award.
    • Prosecutor of Jackson County - Jean Peters Baker, Distinguished Service Award/MyArts Program.
    • MyARTS Program - Angela C. Gravino, Outstanding Service Award.
    • Puppetry Arts Institute - Ann Ragan, President Award and Anitra Steele, Tony Award.
    • Raytown Artist Association - Dawn C. Thomas, President Award and Bruce C. Logeman, Outstanding Service Award.
    • Raytown Arts Council - Alyse J. Stoll, Distinguished Service Award and Julie McDaniel, Outstanding Service Award.
    • Summit Arts - Carole Gray, President Award and Ramon Magee, Distinguished Service Award.
    • Lee’s Summit Arts Council - Syrtiller Kabat, President Award and Paula J. Belser, Outstanding Service Award.
    • Truman Heartland Community Foundation - Phillip J. Hanson, Distinguished Service Award.
    • Vaile Victorian Society - Jean A. Kimball, President Award and Waunita Moore, Outstanding Service Award.

    Comments are currently unavailable on this article

      Events Calendar