There are new challengers in William Chrisman and Winnetonka

There are new challengers in William Chrisman and Winnetonka

But after the final dribble Suburban Middle Seven coaches say Raytown will be No. 1.

Chrisman, which tied Truman for last season’s Suburban Middle Six title, placed second in the voting followed by Park Hill South, Belton, Fort Osage ,Winnetonka and Raytown South. A coach wasn’t allowed to vote for his own team.

Coach Jan Handley returns letter winners Tiemka O’Neal, Kelsey Barrett, Briannica Powell, Harris Gibson, Jasmine Kelly and Paige Staples from a 16-9 team that finished second behind North Kansas City in the then Suburban Middle Six last season.

“We have several experienced veterans,” Handley said. “We will be looking for depth in our bench. Our success will primarily rest on the shoulders of O’Neal and Barrett.”

The two should be among the conference’s too performers.


The Bears return Calle Edwards, Katie Bobbitt, Amy Wendleton, Mariah Wheaton, Samone Redditt and Nieka Wheeler from a 20-9 district and CO-champion team.

Newcomers Kinder Greed, Drier Quarrels, Kelsey Edwards and Sykeya Horn are expected to contribute.

“We are more athletic this year than we ever have been which will allow us to be more aggressive,” coach Lindsay Thompson said. “We have a solid group of returning players who want to repeat as champions of both titles. We anticipate being very aggressive and physical on both the offensive and defensive ends of the floor.


Because of letter winners Stephanie Griffith, Kinsy Kuhn, Shannon Keith, Mallory Ross, Haley Shelton, Courtney Claassen and Jessica Lee the Panthers are hopeful of greatly improving upon last season’s 3-19 record.

“After struggling in the 2009-10 season the  Lady Panthers are looking to improve on our 3-19 record,” coach Jenny Orlowski said. “We are stressing fundamentals and having all five players on floor a scoring threat.

“We have some young sophomores coming up who will definitely see varsity time.”


A 12-12 team rebuilds around letter winners Katie Yager, Erika Harder and Ashley Gale. Newcomers Taylor McElewan, Leah Clark, Erin Brouchard and Brittany Cole are expected to see action.,

“We lack height and graduated many talented seniors last year,” coach Aaron Quinley said.


Because of the return of Jamie Martin, Toni Chiesi, Lauren Langkamp, Elaine McAlister, Mikayla Oliphant, Mikaela Giles, Setoa Talimatasi and Allie Ventresa the Indians are hopeful of bouncing back from a tough 5-20 season.

“We should be a quicker, more athletic team as compared to last year,” coach Dawn Williams said. “Our team’s continued emphasis will be to be one of the best defensive teams in the area for us to be competitive in our league.

“I am looking forward to the challenges we will face every night playing in such an outstanding conference.”


Letter winners Hannah Long and Adriana Green and newcomers Rylee Bayless, Shelby Sloan and Chelsea Pfaffly will lead the Griffins bid to improve upon an 9-14 record.

“This year’s group of Griffins will be led by the letter winners,” new coach Todd Marcantonio said, “The focus for this year’s team will be continued improvement throughout the season. We want to be playing our best basketball in January and February.”


Brittany Ukleya and Shanice Miller are the only returnees from a 7-15 team.

“We are rebuilding,” coach Amber Boecher said. “We are very young. We are excited about what we will accomplish with hard work.”