• Two CHL teams won't play 2013-14 season

  • The Central Hockey League is undergoing another change.

    • email print
  • The Central Hockey League is undergoing another change.
    The league announced Sunday that the Bloomington Blaze and the Fort Worth Brahmas would not participate in the 2013-14 season.
    That leaves the league with 10 franchises, including the Missouri Mavericks, who just completed their fourth season in the CHL in May.
    The league said all Bloomington and Fort Worth players have been declared unrestricted free agents within the CHL.
    The league said that it is possible that the Brahmas could return. In a press release, the CHL said it is “working to find a more suitable venue for the club to return to play in 2014-15.” The Brahmas had taken a one-year hiatus in the 2006-07 season while changing venues. The Brahmas joined the Western Professional Hockey League in 1997 and became part of the CHL in 2001 when the CHL and WPHL merged. They won the CHL title in the 2008-09 season.
    The Blaze had just completed its second season in Bloomington, Ill.
    Two new teams – the St. Charles Chill and Brampton Beast – will begin play in the 2013-14 season. The St. Charles Chill, who are expected to be an in-state rival of the Mavericks, will play in The Family Arena in the St. Louis suburb of St. Charles, Mo. The Chill, who will be coached by former NHL defenseman Jamie Rivers, are expected to develop a rivalry with the Mavericks.
    The expansion Brampton Beast, the CHL’s first Canadian team, will play in the Powerade Centre in Brampton, Ontario. Former CHL player and assistant coach Mark DeSantis will be the coach.
    In addition to the Mavericks, Chill and Beast, the other teams still expected to play in the 2013-14 season are the Allen Americans, Arizona Sundogs, Denver Cutthroats, Quad City Mallards, Rapid City Rush, Tulsa Oilers and Wichita Thunder.

    Comments are currently unavailable on this article

      Events Calendar