Students from Richardson Elementary in the Lee’s Summit School recently captured first and second place awards in the sixth annual Thomas Edison Electrical Awareness Contest.
The competition is sponsored by Time Warner Cable, The Electric League of Missouri and Kansas and Cable in the Classroom. Students wrote and produced videos about electrical safety and important figures in electrical industry.
The first place winners received a $1,000 cash award for their school, a luncheon and tour of the studio.
Second place winners received a $450 cash award for the school. All winning video entries will be shown on KC on Demand.
The first place entry, created by Emily Mallette, Morgan Mallette, Abby Mallette and Courtney Conner, was “The Adventures of Detective Shock.” They are members of the Richardson Elementary Film Crew, an after-school club sponsored by Sarah Eckert and Toni Travalent.
The second place entry, created by Brian Kleiboeker, Kristofer Frostestad, Cayden Stephens, Mathias Rhodes, Madison Wiseman, Parker Hickey and Luke Borron, was “Light Bulb Man: The Edison Effect.” These students are a part of the school’s ASPIRE gifted program.