Here we go again, another new high school football playoff system. Let’s hope this sticks for a while. But who knows.

Here we go again, another new high school football playoff system. Let’s hope this sticks for a while. But who knows.

Thus, beginning with the 2012 season, 64 teams in Classes 1-4 will be divided into eight, eight-team districts. There will be only four eight-team districts in Class 6. The Class 5 format remains to be seen because of an odd number of teams. Reportedly, there will be some byes. There will be only nine regularly scheduled games. Week No. 10 will be used for first-round district games. Thus, some teams may have only four instead of the usual five home games, losing out on much-needed gate and concession revenues. And you may play the same team twice during the 10 weeks.

The Missouri High School Activities Association plans on devising a point system based on the first nine games to seed the eight teams for district play.

This idea is ridiculous.

The eight head football coaches in each district should get together and seed the teams as is the case in volleyball, basketball, soccer and other sports. Coaches, hopefully, will contact the state and convince it to abandon its seeding plan.

“I don’t see why there’s a need to bring computers in it,” Liberty North athletic director Bob Kernell told the Liberty Tribune. Also, remember early next year the Suburban Conference divisions and the football districts realign, as is the case every two years.

- Rusty Adams, Oak Grove cross country and track coach and former Fort Osage standout, no longer holds an Independence City meet record.

Truman’s Austin Lightner was timed in 9 minutes, 55.53 seconds in the 3,200-meter run in Wednesday’s meet at Van Horn. Adams held the old record of 9:59.7 set in 1984. He continues to hold the 1,600 record of 4:27.4 set in the same year.

- For the first time Grain Valley is in Class 4 in baseball and has been assigned to the tough District 14 at Sedalia along with Blue Springs, Blue Springs South and the three Lee’s Summit schools.

William Chrisman is the host school for District 15 that includes Fort Osage, Truman and Raytown.

In girls soccer, Van Horn, for the first time, will host what appears to be a weak Class 2 District 14. East, Lincoln Prep, Northeast and Southwest are the other assigned teams. Grain Valley will host District 13.

- The highly successful Lee’s Summit West volleyball program should continue. William Chrisman graduate Lori Hanaway, who has taken O’Hara to four state titles, has replaced Mark Rice as the coach. Rice resigned to watch his daughter play at the  University of Central Missouri.

- After 10 years as an assistant, Arnell Monroe has been named the new head football coach at Columbia Hickman. He graduated from the school in 1985.

Jason Wright resigned after five years as the Kewpies head coach. He went 26-24, including 6-4 in 2010 and no playoff appearances.

- Tolton, the new Columbia Catholic high school, opens this fall with only ninth and 10th graders and an enrollment of 100. There will be some varsity sports such as cross country and wrestling in the first year. All sports will play varsity schedules in 2012-1213.

The school will be a member of the MSHSAA and hopefully in a conference. Chad Masters, a 1985 Columbia Rock Bridge graduate, is the athletic director and football coach.

- T.R. Hughes Ballpark in O’Fallon will be the site of the state baseball playoffs beginning in 2013 and continuing for two years. The facility is the home of the River City Rascals, an independent minor league team.

Springfield will continue to host the state softball playoffs until 2015.