By The Examiner staff

The first day to file nominations petitions with the City of Independence for candidacy in next April’s election yielded six names Monday, according to City Clerk Jane Sharon – two each for mayor, council member at-large and District 3 council member.

Current council members Eileen Weir (District 4) and Jim Schultz (at-large) filed mayoral nominations, as they had previously announced they would do. Current Council Member at-large Chris Whiting filed to run for re-election and was joined by Karen DeLuccie for that position. Roxann Thorley and Chris Rohrs filed for the District 3 spot on Council.

The nomination petitions still must be certified this week by the Board of Elections. The deadline for filing petitions is 5 p.m. Nov. 22. Candidates then have three days to possibly withdraw.

Thorley prevailed in last week’s special City Council process to be named the interim District 3 member until April. She takes over the seat following the September resignation of Myron Paris. She won over Scott Roberson, and was sworn in before Monday’s study session. The winner in April’s election will finish the remaining two years of Paris’ term for District 3.