Kent Bradford was named the Blue Springs Board of Education’s new president for the 2014-15 school year Monday. He is replacing current president Dave Wright.

Current board members Kay Coen, Dale Falck and Dale Walkup were re-sworn in at the meeting. Their seats were uncontested in the April 8 election. The three will serve another three-year term on the board.

Blue Springs superintendent Paul Kinder announced board secretary Virginia Dameron's retirement. She has served as secretary for over 30 years, according to Kinder.

Common Core bill status

Deputy superintendent Jim Finley said bill a concerning Common Core has passed in the Missouri House of Representatives.

Missouri HB 1490 would require the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education to create new work groups on how school districts throughout the state should implement CC learning objectives, says Finley. The bill also would allow DESE to make recommendations to the State Board of Education for any changes on how CC is being implemented in Missouri schools.

The bill was read for the first time on the Senate floor April 10.

Last day of school set

The board unanimously agreed that the last day of school for this school year will be set on Friday, May 30, as part of the consent agenda.

Meal prices at district schools will remain the same for the next school year. Elementary lunch will still be $2.20, high school lunch at $2.45 and elementary breakfast will remain a $1.60, while high school breakfast is still $1.65.