The Citizen's Civic & Cultural Committee, in conjunction with the Independence Parks & Recreation Department, held their 26th Annual "Festival of Color" Youth Art Show on April 16 and 17. Almost 500 pieces of art, in eight categories from nine participating High Schools were judged by retired art teacher Larry Penrose. Winners of first, second and third place in each category received monetary awards as well as ribbons. Honorable mention received a ribbon.

This year they featured a local adult artist, Byron Constance and his wood, terra cotta and bronze sculptures as well as some of his paintings.

The Independence Art Association independently judged the show as well, presenting students with medals.

Teachers and students alike look forward to the Spring exhibit as a way to showcase talented young artists and make it possible for family, friends and patrons of the arts to enjoy their work.

The CCCC Awards:

Best of Show – Devyn Martinez, Drawing-Blue Springs High School

Most Promising New Artist (first year student) – Misty Hernandez, Photography-Van Horn High School


First: Diana Howser-Blue Springs

Second: Preston Fredenberg-Truman

Third: Rebecca McCane-Fort Osage

Honorable Mention: Skyler Murphy-Fort Osage


First: Devyn Martinez-Blue Springs

Second: Annabelle Cash-Blue Springs

Third: Morgan Van Ross-Raytown South

Honorable Mention: Nicole Frerking-Blue Springs South

Mixed Media/Print

First: Kayla Copeland-Fort Osage

Second: Shea Hatcher-Fort Osage

Third: Rachel Hall-Fort Osage

Honorable Mention: Annabelle Cash-Blue Springs


First: Hannah Quick-Blue Springs

Second: Ashley Isley-Grain Valley

Third: Brigitte Kavanaugh-William Chrisman

Honorable Mention: Misty Hernandez-Van Horn

Experimental Photography

First: Sydnee Quick-William Chrisman

Second: Adriana Colina-Blue Springs

Third: Sarah Erikson-William Chrisman

Honorable Mention: Kylie Smith-Grain Valley


First: Simaran Singh-Fort Osage

Second: Diana Howser-Blue Springs

Third: Tyler Riczo-Blue Springs

Honorable Mention: Courtnee Stanford-Fort Osage


First: Chase Matlock-Fort Osage

Second: Cydney Cherepak-Blue Springs

Third: Simaran Singh-Fort Osage

Honorable Mention: Katelynn Davis-Blue Springs South

Computer Art

First: Kenny Dickson-Raytown South

Second: Samantha Morris-Raytown South

Third: Val Pena-Van Horn

Honorable Mention: Leanne McGee-Raytown South 

The Independence Arts Association Medals:

Acrylic/Oil: Veronica Webb-Blue Springs

Drawing: Tanner Haynes-William Chrisman

Mixed Media/Print: Cayla Wilderdyke-Fort Osage

Photography: Bridgette Kavanaugh-William Chrisman

Experimental Photography: Kayla Stough-William Chrisman

Tempra/Watercolor: Natalie Roark-Blue Springs South

3D/Jewelry/Sculpture/Fabric: Jewelry: Janelle Dempsey-Raytown South

3D/Sculpture: Cydney Cherepak-Blue Springs

Fabric: Rachel Hall-Fort Osage

Computer Art: Samantha Morris-Raytown South