EJC students earn

scholarships from

Emporia State

Several students from Eastern Jackson County have earned scholarships for the 2016-17 school year at Emporia State University in Emporia, Kansas.

Emporia State University has awarded more than $3.5 million in scholarship funds to help more than 1,700 students from Kansas, 23 other states and 32 foreign countries realize their educational dreams during the 2016-17 academic year.

Local students receiving scholarships include (listed are student name, hometown and scholarship awarded):

• Catalina Bissell, Blue Springs, Empowering ESU Scholars, ESU Newman Nursing Alumni Association (ESU/NNAA) Scholarship and Glaze Track Fund.

• Taysean Goodwin, Blue Springs, Ed and Laura Mae McAntee Track Scholarship.

• Payton Haen, Lee’s Summit, Empowering ESU Scholars.

• Britany Hanks, Independence, Empowering ESU Scholars.

• Alyson Hartmann, Blue Springs, Darlene Zoberst Scholarship.

• Lindsey Maxwell, Independence, City of Emporia Grant and John Baxter Student Athletic Trainer Scholarship.

• Annelise Rockley, Independence, Glen and Virginia Pennington Scholarship.

• Matthew Slauter, Blue Springs, Presidential/Transfer Scholarship.

For more information about financial aid and scholarships at Emporia State University, visit www.emporia.edu/finaid.


Independence student

earns scholarship

from VFW, Sport Clips

Jeffrey Martin of Independence is one of 135 student veterans who have received a “Sport Clips Help A Hero Scholarship” from the Veterans of Foreign Wars of the U.S. for the 2017 spring semester.

Martin, who is studying in the University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Law, is among the recipients who will receive more than $600,000 in scholarships to help student veterans in college or trade school

Enacted in 2014, the Help A Hero scholarship program was created in conjunction with Sport Clips to help ease the burden of student loans for America’s service members and veterans. Each semester, service members and veterans can apply for scholarships of up to $5,000. These scholarships help student veterans achieve their educational goals and take the next steps to starting their careers in the civilian workforce.

Applications for the 2017 fall semester will be accepted until April 30, 2017. Learn more about the Help A Hero Scholarship program, and apply today online.


Local students

named to OBU

President’s Honor Roll

Three local residents have been named to the President’s Honor Roll for the fall 2016 semester at Oklahoma Baptist University in Shawnee, Okla.

Earning honors are Courtney Jo Barnickle, Blue Springs, and Alexandra Hope Lanphear and Charles A. Lanphear, both of Independence.The President’s Honor Roll recognizes students who achieved a semester grade point average of 3.7 or higher on a 4.0 scale.

– Compiled by Karl Zinke