Town hall meeting to

focus on Lee’s Summit

R-7 School District

The Lee’s Summit R-7 School District is joining forces with Link 2 Lee’s Summit to present a town hall from 6:30 to 7:30 p.m. Monday, Feb. 26, at the Missouri Innovation Campus, 1101 NW Innovation Parkway.

All interested community members are invited to attend. Link 2 Lee’s Summit, a podcast and online news service, will provide a recording of the town hall following the meeting, both available at www.link2leessummit.com.

Panelists from the Lee’s Summit R-7 School District include Dennis L. Carpenter, superintendent; Katie Collier, associate superintendent of instruction and leadership; and Judy Hedrick, associate superintendent of business and operations. Town hall hosts are Jason Norbury and Nick Parker. The conversation will focus on several topics, including the district’s quality instructional programs and school district facilities as well as the district’s goals and plans for the future.

Lee’s Summit R-7 residents have multiple avenues to participate in the town hall, including contacting Link 2 Lee’s Summit through Facebook (facebook.com/link2leessummit), Twitter (@lstownhall) or email (connect@link2leessumit.com) with suggested questions for the panel. Attendees will also be invited to submit questions during the hour-long event.

In addition to being available at Link2LeesSummit.com, the weekly town hall podcasts are offered through Apple Podcasts, Google Play, Stitcher Radio or your favorite podcast app.


Fort Osage cheerleaders

Place at NCA Nationals

The Fort Osage High School cheerleading squad captured third place out of 17 teams with their performance at the NCA High School Nationals in Dallas.

The squad – under the direction of coach Heather Hopkins and assistant coaches Candra Camerlynck and Suzy Mills – was the only team in the Medium Intermediate Division to hit zero deductions both days at NCA High School Nationals.

Squad members are: Lainey Camerlynck, Sydnei Flaig, Christina Freeman, Chyanne Freeman, Allee Herrman, Shannon Jeffries, Faith Lockard, Taylor Menne, Sam Mygatt, Rachel Rellihan, Sophie Ruoff, Allye Roszell, Ky Steenrod and Lexi Wily.


Local female students

honored by NCWIT

Several female students from Eastern Jackson County were honored Friday, Feb. 9, by the National Center for Women & Information Technology and Commerce Bank of Kansas City for their accomplishments and aspirations in computing and technology.

The students were presented their awards at a ceremony and reception at Kansas City Power & Light.

The young women are winners of the NCWIT Western Missouri and Kansas Affiliate Award for Aspirations in Computing, which recognizes high-school women for their computing-related achievements and interests. Each winner received a glass trophy, a prize donated by Net App and Northwest Missouri State University, an NCWIT messenger bag and swag items provided by NCWIT. Honorable Mentions for the award will receive a glass trophy, an NCWIT string bag and swag items.

The NCWIT Award for Aspirations in Computing was created to encourage the computing aspirations of young women, introduce them to leadership opportunities in the field, and generate visibility for women’s participation in technology fields. Winners are acknowledged for their outstanding aptitude and interest in technology and computing, leadership ability, academic history, and plans for post-secondary education.

Following are the local 2018 winners of the NCWIT Award for Aspirations in Computing – Western Missouri and Kansas Affiliate:

• Emiline Stewart, Lee’s Summit West High School.

• Lailah Weatherspoon, Lee’s Summit High School.

The local 2018 Honorable Mention recipients of the NCWIT Award for Aspirations in Computing – Western Missouri and Kansas Affiliate who will be honored are:

• Arlette Andrade, Grain Valley High School.

• Samantha Baker, Blue Springs High School.

• Shelby Soukup, Lee’s Summit North High School.

• Caelen Walker, Career & Technology Center at Fort Osage.

– Compiled by Karl Zinke