Several incumbents and challengers filled for Jackson County offices on Tuesday, the first day of filing this year’s elections.

Frank White Jr. of Lee’s Summit filed for a full term as county executive, a position he’s held since early 2016. Fellow Democrat Matthew T. Merryman of Kansas City also filed. They meet in the Aug. 7 party primary. No Republicans filed Tuesday.

Filing runs through 5 p.m. Tuesday, March 27. County officials serve four-year terms. Others filing Tuesday:

• Legislator Scott Burnett, D-Kansas City, filed for a sixth term in the 1st District in Kansas City.

• Democrats Sandra E. Jiles and Ron Finley, both of Kansas City, filed in the 2nd District in Kansas City. One-term incumbent Democrat Alfred Jordan has not filed yet.

• Democrat Paul J. Wrabec of Sugar Creek and Republican Brice Stewart of Independence filed in the 3rd District, which covers Sugar Creek and Independence north of Interstate 70. Eight-term incumbent Democrat Dennis Waits of Independence has not yet filed. (Stewart also is running for an Independence City Council at-large position on April 3.)

• Democrat Dan Tarwater of Kansas City filed for another term in the 4th District, south Kansas City and Grandview.

• No one filed Tuesday in the 5th District, which includes Blue Springs, Grain Valley, Oak Grove, northeast Jackson County and parts of southern and eastern Independence. Republican Greg Grounds has represented that district for three terms.

• Incumbent Republican Theresa Galvin filed in the 6th District, which covers Lee’s Summit, much of Raytown and the southeast part of the county.

• Democrat Jalen Anderson of Blue Springs filed in the 1st District at large. Democrat Garry Baker of Buckner has represented that district since 2016.

• Incumbent Democrat Crystal Williams of Kansas City filed in the 2nd District at large, seeking a third term.

• Incumbent Democrat Tony Miller of Lee’s Summit filed in the 3rd District at large, seeking a second term.