Steve Westermann, recently retired as the longtime chief of the Central Jackson County Fire Protection District, has been voted onto the district’s board of directors.

Westermann defeated Dale Arnold, a retired firefighter from the district, with 2,806 votes (58.2 percent) compared to Arnold’s 1,984 votes (41.3 percent). There were also 34 write-in votes.

The CJC Fire Protection District covers Grain Valley, most of Blue Springs and areas surrounding them.

BLUE SPRINGS SCHOOLS: Kurt Swanson and Bryan Dennie got the voters’ nods to fill the open seats on the Blue Springs School District Board of Education, the latter by the narrowest of margins.

Swanson received 3,368 votes, while Dennie edged Jeff Siems by 41 votes for the second spot – 2,650 to 2,609. The fourth candidate on the ballot, Antoine Jennings, received 1,630 votes, and there were 72 write-in votes.

GRAIN VALLEY: Voters approved Mayor Mike Todd for a fifth two-year term, as he defeated challenger James Hofstetter, 616 votes to 494.

Arnold, also an incumbent on the Board of Alderman, was defeated by Ward 1 challenger Jayci Stratton, 283-167. Incumbents Yolanda West (Ward 2) and Bob Headley (Ward 3) ran unopposed.

Editor’s note: The Examiner will have further election results from around Eastern Jackson County in Thursday’s edition.