Area high schools garnered six nominations when the Starlight Theatre announced the Blue Star Award nominations Friday, including three in one category.

Modeled after Broadway's Tony Awards, the 16th-annual Blue Star Awards honor excellence in high school musical theater in the Kansas City region. The winners will be announced at ceremony May 17 at Starlight Theatre in Swope Park, Kansas City.

In the category of outstanding lead actor, Blue Springs' Sam Aubuchon, Blue Springs South's Noah Sweeney and Lee's Summit North's Alec Bridges were among the six nominees. Aubuchon played Seymour in “Little Shop of Horrors,” Sweeney played Corey Jr. in “Back to the 80s…The Totally Awesome Musical” and Bridges played Frank Abagnale Jr. in “Catch Me if You Can.”

South's Isaac Hardin was nominated for outstanding supporting actor (Feargal McFerrin in “Back to the 80s”), Blue Springs' production of “Little Shop” earned a nomination for outstanding orchestra and Fort Osage's production of “A Christmas Carol” earned a nomination for outstanding scenic design and construction, Tier 1 (less than $2,000).

Nominated shows were performed during the 2017-18 school year. In all, Starlight handed out 132 nominations at 30 high schools. Fifty-four schools participated, submitting 59 entries.