Editor's note: This story has been changed to correct the reference to Wrabec as an area businessman

Charlie Franklin won the Democratic nod for the District 3 seat on the Jackson County Legislature, advancing to November's general election to decide who will replace eight-term legislator Dennis Waits.

Franklin, a longtime local accountant, won a three-person primary Tuesday, defeating Paul Wrabec and Lois McDonald with 37.2 percent of the vote (4,196), according to unofficial results from the Jackson County and Kansas City election boards.

Wrabec tallied 33.4 percent (3,767) and McDonald 29.4 percent (3,318).

Republican Brice Stewart was unopposed in the district that covers Sugar Creek and Independence generally north of Interstate 70. County legislators are elected to four-year terms.

“Now we go forward and try to win in November, and we'll probably have the same issues we did,” Franklin said, specifically referring to the county jail and assessment department and “everybody getting along.”

“I appreciate all my volunteers and helpers that have made this possible, and I want to thank Denny Waits and my wife Donna.”

Franklin had filed after Waits initially declared his candidacy but then withdrew from the race and recruited Franklin to run. Wrabec, from Sugar Creek, is a longtime area businessman, and McDonald is a vice president with the Independence Chamber of Commerce.

Elsewhere in County Legislature races, District 1 incumbent and Legislature Chairperson Scott Burnett (Kansas City) had no opponent in the Democratic primary. In Districts 5 and 6, Jeanie Lauer (Blue Springs) and incumbent Theresa Galvin (Lee's Summit) were unopposed in the Republican primaries. None of the three will be opposed in November's general election.

In District 4, Dan Tarwater defeated John Maloney with 61.7 percent of the vote (9,997) to Maloney's 38.3 percent.

County at-large

There were no Republican primaries in the three at-large districts, so Tuesday's primary winners will be in the County Legislature.

Crystal Williams decisively maintained her 2nd At-Large District seat, beating John Burnett with 64.9 percent of the vote (48,852) to Burnett's 35.1 percent (26,458).

At-large candidates run in one of three at-large districts but are elected by all Jackson County voters. The 2nd at-large district includes almost all of Kansas City, plus Raytown.

In the 1st At-large District, which includes portions of Independence and Blue Springs, plus Grain Valley, Oak Grove, Buckner, Sibley, Levasy, Sugar Creek and portions of Kansas City east of Raytown, Jalen Anderson handily defeated Sherwood Smith.

Anderson, from Blue Springs, tallied 70.9 percent of the vote (50,830) to Smith's 29.1 percent (20,850) to succeed Greg Grounds, who is stepping down after three terms in the Legislature.

In the 3rd At-large District, which covers roughly the southern one-third of the county, incumbent Tony Miller (Lee's Summit) edged Roberta Gough (Lee's Summit) by less than 600 votes. Miller won 50.4 percent of the vote (36,406) to Gough's 49.6 percent (35,820).

Jackson County executive

Frank White essentially won his first full term as county executive, defeating Democratic primary challengers Matthew Merryman and Jeremy Raines. White won 68.4 percent of the vote (55,511), with Merryman getting 21.1 percent (17,097) and Raines 10.5 percent (8,501).

Nathan Kline won the small Green Party vote, and there was no Republican race.

White was appointed by his fellow legislators in early 2016 after Mike Sanders' resignation, then won a special election that year to complete Sanders' term.

Jackson County sheriff

After a Jackson County judge last week nullified the sheriff primary election, ruling that the county did not have the authority to call the special election, the county party committees are selecting candidates for the general election.

The Democratic primary is between interim sheriff Darryl Forte, appointed in May following Mike Sharp's resignation, Cpt. Mike Rogers of the department and retired KCPD Sgt. Ramona Arroyo. The Jackson County Democratic Committee will meet Aug. 21 to select its nominee. The Republicans met Monday and selected David Bernal of Lee's Summit over Lake Lotawana's Randy Poletis by a vote of 29-5.