WHAT: Van Horn High School Theater presents “Little Shop of Horrors,” the long-running off-Broadway musical by Alan Menken and Howard Ashman (1982), that is parts comedy, horror and science fiction, directed by Jamie Yung and student assistant Kaleigh Reeves.

WHEN: 7 p.m. Thursday-Saturday.

WHERE: Van Horn High School performing arts center, 1109 S. Arlington Ave., Independence.

HOW MUCH: Tickets are $7 in advance at the school, $8 at the door and $5 for students and senior citizens.

WHAT'S THE SHOW ABOUT: Seymour Krelborn is a nerdy and dejected floral shop assistant who vows to work his way out of Skid Row. After a solar eclipse happens upon a strange plant, which he affectionately names “Audrey II” after his coworker crush, little does he know that this strange and unusual plant will develop a soulful R&B voice, a potty mouth and unquenchable thirst for human blood.

As Audrey II grows bigger and meaner (the largest version requires two puppeteers to operate), the carnivorous plant promises limitless fame and fortune to Seymour, as long as he continues providing a fresh supply of blood. Audrey’s sadistic, abusive dentist boyfriend overdoses on laughing gas and becomes Audrey II’s first victim, allowing Seymour and Audrey to be together, but the plant demands more. Only after a visit from an inquiring botanist, when it’s too late, does Seymour discover the plant’s extra-terrestrial origins and his true drive for world domination (from stageagent.com).


Character: Actor

Seymour: Colby Rivera

Audrey: Isabelle Muñoz

Mr. Mushnik: Jordan Arreola

Orin: Brandon Lowe

Audrey II voice: Darrius Lineker

Audrey II puppeteers: Harley West, Joe Rockaway

Crystal: Catherine Cumming

Ronnette: Kennedy Marks

Chiffon: Litzy Alvaro

Mr. Bernstein: Lane Leeman

Mrs. Luce: Dakota Boise

Skip Snip: Chandler Seevers

Patrick Martin: Kyle Williams

Chorus: Katie Hulme, Kaleigh Reeves, Melissa Shinn, Moriah Lunsford, Sarina Eickman, Liliana Beccerra-Pujols, Jasmine Riaz, Alicia Crain, Braeden Parrott, Amber Hougland, Trista Mouser

– Compiled by Mike Genet