Area students earn academic honors from Missouri Valley

Three local students have been named to the dean’s list for the 2019 fall semester at Missouri Valley College in Marshall, Missouri.

The requirements for the MVC dean's list are a 3.3 or higher grade point average; at least 12 graded hours for the semester and no "D," "F," or "incomplete" grades for the semester.

The following students from Eastern Jackson County were honored:

• Kali Christman, Independence, junior, exercise science.

• Samuel Siron, Blue Springs, sophomore, management.

• Elias Vaoifi, Independence, junior, finance.


Local students named to Columbia College dean’s list

Several students from Eastern Jackson County have been named to the dean’s list for the fall 2019 semester by Columbia College, at both its Columbia and Kansas City campuses.

To be named to the dean's list, a student must have completed 12 semester hours in a 16-week period and achieved a minimum GPA of 3.5 on a 4.0-point scale.

Local students named to the list include (name, hometown and campus of study listed in that order):

• Cilicia Clarkson, Independence, Kansas City.

• Stacey Lankard, Independence, Kansas City.

• Hayden Ludwig, Independence, Day Campus, Columbia.

• Emily Luebrecht, Blue Springs, Kansas City.

• Dakotah Pierce, Independence, Kansas City.


EJC students earn academic honors from Graceland University

Many local students earned academic honors for the fall 2019 semester at Graceland University in Lamoni, Iowa.

Students with a GPA between 3.65 and 3.99 are named to the honors list. Students with a perfect 4.0 grade point average are named to the president's list.

The local students to earn this honor included (listed alphabetically by last name):

Honors List

• Laura Castrogiovanni, Independence

• Leah Eckart, Independence

• Kathryn Frizzell, Independence

• Grace Jeffries, Blue Springs

• Makayla Kutzly, Blue Springs

• Kathy Larson, Independence

• Alexis Liggett, Blue Springs

• Kaylee Nance, Independence

• Beth Presler, Independence

• Shelly Reeves, Independence

• Steven Shaw, Blue Springs

• Andrew Sheehy, Blue Springs

• Carter Wiley, Independence

• Logan Woodcock, Blue Springs

• Hannah Yardley, Blue Springs

Presidents List

• Hallee Arnold, Blue Springs

• Justin Binnicker, Independence

• Makensey Burghart, Blue Springs

• Alissa Clark, Blue Springs

• Alexander De Haan, Independence

• Kalee Dowell, Independence

• Christy Edwards, Independence

• Riley Ferree, Lee’s Summit

• Karah Fisher, Independence

• Dylan Fox, Lee’s Summit

• Madeline Glodowski, Lee’s Summit

• Nicole Haley, Independence

• Natalie Harper, Lee’s Summit

• Consuelo Kahmann, Blue Springs

• Dakoda Kenig, Blue Springs

• Caleb LaMastres, Independence

• Samantha Mackay, Blue Springs

• Casey Main, Blue Springs

• Katlynn Mason, Blue Springs

• Collin McClaran, Independence

• Jonathan Myrick, Blue Springs

• Andrea Patton, Blue Springs

• Landry Rogers, Independence

• Adelaide Simpson, Independence

• Victoria Simpson, Independence

• Julianna Sowerwine, Independence

• Elnara Tamrazova, Independence

• Kelsey Thompson, Independence

• Tabitha Watson, Sugar Creek

• Abbie Williams, Independence

• Claire Wilson, Blue Springs

– Compiled by Karl Zinke