News - The Examiner of East Jackson County https://www.examiner.net/news examiner.net delivers up-to-the-minute news and information on the latest top stories, weather, entertainment, politics and more. Tue, 23 Jul 2019 21:48:00 +0000 France bans kids under 15 from using phones, tablets, smartwatches at school https://www.examiner.net/news/20190723/france-bans-kids-under-15-from-using-phones-tablets-smartwatches-at-school?rssfeed=true Tue, 23 Jul 2019 13:36:02 CST By Gary Dinges gdinges@gatehousemedia.com https://www.examiner.net/news/20190723/france-bans-kids-under-15-from-using-phones-tablets-smartwatches-at-school 2 La. police officers fired after Facebook post suggests shooting U.S. Rep. Ocasio-Cortez https://www.examiner.net/news/20190723/2-la-police-officers-fired-after-facebook-post-suggests-shooting-us-rep-ocasio-cortez?rssfeed=true Tue, 23 Jul 2019 12:57:59 CST By Gary Dinges gdinges@gatehousemedia.com https://www.examiner.net/news/20190723/2-la-police-officers-fired-after-facebook-post-suggests-shooting-us-rep-ocasio-cortez Scientists discovered a new species of tiny glow-in-the-dark sharks https://www.examiner.net/zz/news/20190723/scientists-discovered-new-species-of-tiny-glow-in-the-dark-sharks?rssfeed=true Tue, 23 Jul 2019 06:34:13 CST Katey Psencik, GateHouse Media https://www.examiner.net/zz/news/20190723/scientists-discovered-new-species-of-tiny-glow-in-the-dark-sharks Blue Springs South student flying high https://www.examiner.net/news/20190723/blue-springs-south-student-flying-high?rssfeed=true Tue, 23 Jul 2019 07:10:40 CST Michael Smith https://www.examiner.net/news/20190723/blue-springs-south-student-flying-high Absent Dougherty receives rebukes https://www.examiner.net/news/20190723/absent-dougherty-receives-rebukes?rssfeed=true Tue, 23 Jul 2019 23:07:25 CST Mike Genet https://www.examiner.net/news/20190723/absent-dougherty-receives-rebukes County asks state for help in assessment controversy https://www.examiner.net/news/20190723/county-asks-state-for-help-in-assessment-controversy?rssfeed=true Tue, 23 Jul 2019 23:06:11 CST Mike Genet https://www.examiner.net/news/20190723/county-asks-state-for-help-in-assessment-controversy Nearly 90K children dropped from state Medicaid https://www.examiner.net/news/20190723/nearly-90k-children-dropped-from-state-medicaid?rssfeed=true Tue, 23 Jul 2019 23:04:22 CST By Summer Ballentine Associated Press https://www.examiner.net/news/20190723/nearly-90k-children-dropped-from-state-medicaid KC man drowns trying to save children in Lake Jacomo https://www.examiner.net/news/20190723/kc-man-drowns-trying-to-save-children-in-lake-jacomo?rssfeed=true Tue, 23 Jul 2019 23:03:12 CST https://www.examiner.net/news/20190723/kc-man-drowns-trying-to-save-children-in-lake-jacomo Oak Grove woman dies in crash in Carroll County https://www.examiner.net/news/20190723/oak-grove-woman-dies-in-crash-in-carroll-county?rssfeed=true Tue, 23 Jul 2019 23:02:48 CST https://www.examiner.net/news/20190723/oak-grove-woman-dies-in-crash-in-carroll-county Former Raytown school board president charged with stealing school funds https://www.examiner.net/news/20190723/former-raytown-school-board-president-charged-with-stealing-school-funds?rssfeed=true Tue, 23 Jul 2019 23:02:24 CST https://www.examiner.net/news/20190723/former-raytown-school-board-president-charged-with-stealing-school-funds Author: Libraries 'on front line of democracy' https://www.examiner.net/news/20190723/author-libraries-on-front-line-of-democracy?rssfeed=true Tue, 23 Jul 2019 22:57:50 CST Mike Genet https://www.examiner.net/news/20190723/author-libraries-on-front-line-of-democracy Blue Springs city clerk claims honor https://www.examiner.net/news/20190723/blue-springs-city-clerk-claims-honor?rssfeed=true Tue, 23 Jul 2019 22:57:07 CST By Corbin Kottmann ckottmann@examiner.net https://www.examiner.net/news/20190723/blue-springs-city-clerk-claims-honor Former Fort standout gives police the win https://www.examiner.net/sports/20190723/former-fort-standout-gives-police-win?rssfeed=true Tue, 23 Jul 2019 22:51:59 CST Bill Althaus https://www.examiner.net/sports/20190723/former-fort-standout-gives-police-win St. Mary's Medical Center: Whole foods for weight loss https://www.examiner.net/news/20190723/st-marys-medical-center-whole-foods-for-weight-loss?rssfeed=true Tue, 23 Jul 2019 22:48:01 CST By Erin Plumberg, MS, RDN, LD St. Mary's Medical Center https://www.examiner.net/news/20190723/st-marys-medical-center-whole-foods-for-weight-loss Tracey Shaffer: We all scream for ice cream https://www.examiner.net/news/20190723/tracey-shaffer-we-all-scream-for-ice-cream?rssfeed=true Tue, 23 Jul 2019 22:47:00 CST https://www.examiner.net/news/20190723/tracey-shaffer-we-all-scream-for-ice-cream Not only are zombies real, they’re part of nature https://www.examiner.net/news/20190722/not-only-are-zombies-real-theyre-part-of-nature?rssfeed=true Mon, 22 Jul 2019 14:50:18 CST By Jerald Pinson jpinson@statesman.com https://www.examiner.net/news/20190722/not-only-are-zombies-real-theyre-part-of-nature Grain Valley police hold camp for youth https://www.examiner.net/news/20190721/grain-valley-police-hold-camp-for-youth?rssfeed=true Sun, 21 Jul 2019 07:44:40 CST By The Examiner staff https://www.examiner.net/news/20190721/grain-valley-police-hold-camp-for-youth Local artist had vision of Apollo 11 https://www.examiner.net/news/20190720/local-artist-had-vision-of-apollo-11?rssfeed=true Sat, 20 Jul 2019 12:36:17 CST Mike Genet https://www.examiner.net/news/20190720/local-artist-had-vision-of-apollo-11 Last chance to see Truman Library this weekend https://www.examiner.net/news/20190720/last-chance-to-see-truman-library-this-weekend?rssfeed=true Sat, 20 Jul 2019 12:35:45 CST Mike Genet https://www.examiner.net/news/20190720/last-chance-to-see-truman-library-this-weekend Days Gone By: Following the Apollo 11 mission https://www.examiner.net/news/20190720/days-gone-by-following-apollo-11-mission?rssfeed=true Sat, 20 Jul 2019 23:09:06 CST https://www.examiner.net/news/20190720/days-gone-by-following-apollo-11-mission