Fort Osage senior middle linebacker Von Young IV was chosen as the winner of the 27th Annual Buck Buchanan Memorial Award that goes to the top lineman or linebacker in the metro area.

Young won the award at Sunday night’s Thomas A. Simone Awards ceremony at Olathe (Kan.) West High School.

Young had 107 tackles, including 12 for loss, and added six sacks, four interceptions, three forced fumbles and two fumble recoveries while leading the Indians to a 9-5 record and a Class 5 state runner-up finish. He was chosen first-team Class 5 all-state and was the Class 5 State Defensive Player of the Year by the Missouri Football Coaches Association.

He beat out three others finalists – North Kansas City senior defensive end Adetomiwa Adebawore, Rockhurst senior offensive lineman Danielson Ike and St. Thomas Aquinas senior offensive lineman Joe Michalski – for the Buchanan Award in a vote of the Greater Kansas City Football Coaches Association members and a Simone Awards Committee of media members.

Blue Valley North senior quarterback Graham Mertz was the 36th Annual Simone Award winner as the top player in the metro area. He won it over three other finalists – North Kansas City running back/linebacker CJ Price, Olathe North senior running back Daymonn Sanchez and St. Thomas Aquinas sophomore running back Tank Young.

Platte County senior quarterback Spencer Stewart was the winner of the 20th Annual Frank Fontana Award, for the top Class 1-4 player in the metro area.

Bishop Miege senior linebacker Dylan Downing won the 19th Annual Bobby Bell Award, for the top Class 1-4 lineman or linebacker in the metro area.

Blue Valley North senior Cameron Burt won the 11th Annual Otis Taylor Award, for the top receiver or tight end in the metro area.

See more on the story in Tuesday's Examiner or online.