Jackson County Executive Mike Sanders has appointed a committee to redraw county legislative districts based on figures from the 2010 census.


The six-member committee includes Democrats Keith Querry, Tom Wyrsch and Ed Pendleton and Republicans Sally Miller, David Stackelhouse and former state Rep. Gary Dusenberg.


The County Legislature has nine members. Six are elected by district. The other three, the at-large legislators, come from a separate set of three districts but are voted on by all county voters.


The County Charter gives the committee broad powers. Whatever it comes up with – and is agreed to by at least two committee members from each party – goes into effect. The committee has 60 days to draw districts that are “compact, of contiguous territory and as nearly of equal population as is practicable,” according to the charter.