The Blue Springs South girls tennis team suffered a tough loss.

The Blue Springs South girls tennis team suffered a tough loss.

Two doubles victories enabled visiting Park Hill South to edge the Jaguars 5-4 Wednesday.

“We played one of the top teams from the northern district and I believe that given another day could have beaten this team,” South coach Craig Dierking said.

“The most outstanding player tonight had a great match. Hailey Swisher continues her calm and cool demeanor as she coasted in her singles and bought back hard to pull out a doubles victory as well.”

Morgan Clarke, Swisher and Madison McCulloch were the South winners. Swisher and McCulloch also prevailed in doubles.

South posted a 5-4 junior varsity victory.

RICHMOND TOURNAMENT: Grain Valley finished No. 1 and No. 2 in singles and doubles in claiming the tourney title with 42 points.

Katelyn Barr defeated teammate Leanna Meredith for the singles crown and Alli Ehlen and Lanae Wilke stroked past Ashley Manns and Haley Porter in the doubles finals.

“It was a great day,” Grain Valley coach Randy Draper said. “I was really pleased with Leanna. She beat two No. 1 players on other teams on her way to play Katelyn.

“And Ashley and Haley also beat two No. 1 doubles teams. I was really impressed with that.”

LEE’S SUMMIT NORTH 7, FORT OSAGE 2: A sweep of the singles matches enabled Lee’s Summit North to post a home victory over Fort Osage and improve to 8-5.

“Everybody played well and we got a chance to sub some seniors in for doubles,” North coach Stuart Reece said.

Vilune Sestokaite, Kadi Severaon, Ashton Pohlman, Alyson Moore, Christina Leeper and Karli Shortell were North singles winners.

Pohlman and Kiersten Callahan prevailed in doubles.

The doubles teams of Kelly Cochran and Hannah King and Kaitlyn Vann and Jenna Belmore were Fort Osage doubles winners.

“Vilune has really hit her stride on the season and its playing her best tennis,” Reece said. “It is tough for a freshman, but she has been strong all year.”

North was a 6-3 junior varsity winner.