Filing opened Tuesday for the Aug. 3 primary election in state, federal and county races.


Filing opened Tuesday for the Aug. 3 primary election in state, federal and county races. Here's a summary of the first-day filings for seats representing Eastern Jackson County.

Missouri House – District 41
Democrat Shalonn “Kiki” Curls of Kansas City is in her second term in the 41st District, and she filed late Tuesday for a third term. State representatives are allowed a maximum of four terms under state law.
The district is mostly in east Kansas City, roughly between Truman Road and 39th Street, and also includes a portion of western Independence, bounded by 23rd Street on the north, Hardy Avenue on the east and 31st Street and U.S. 40 on the south.

Missouri House – District 49
In the 49th District, Democrat Tom McDonald of Independence is serving his first term. As of Tuesday, he was the only candidate to have filed in the 49th.  The district includes much of western Independence and roughly the northern half of Raytown.

Missouri House – District 51
State Rep. Ray Salva, D-Sugar Creek, will be term limited at the end of the 2010 session. The 51st District serves northwestern Independence and Sugar Creek. Democratic candidates who filed Tuesday include Travis Richey, Jeremy Ploeger and Ira Anders, all of Independence.
Richey is a real estate consultant for Keller Williams Eastland Partners. Ploeger serves as vice chairman of the Jackson County Board of Zoning Adjustment. Anders, a retired teacher, is completing his six-year term on the Independence School District Board of Education.
Independence resident Jeff Workman is the lone Republican to file as of Tuesday. Workman serves on the city of Independence’s Citizens with Disabilities Advisory Board. Michael Cogan of Independence also filed as a Constitution Party candidate.

Missouri House – District 52
State Rep. Paul LeVota, D-Independence, will be term limited at the end of the 2010 session. The 52nd District serves portions of eastern Independence and northern Lee’s Summit, including Lakewood. Democratic candidates who filed Tuesday include Robbie Makinen of Kansas City and Chyanne Lockhart Cardarella of Independence.
Makinen is now the economic development coordinator for Jackson County. Cardarella works as a team leader in the records management department for the pro bono, corporate and business litigation sections at Shook, Hardy & Bacon LLP.
Independence resident Noel Torpey was the sole Republican filing on Tuesday for the 52nd District.

Missouri House – District 53
Two candidates filed in the 53rd District.
Anna Lynn Vogel, a Republican, filed for the seat about 30 minutes before filing closed for Tuesday. She lives in Independence.
Earlier Tuesday, Diane Egger, a Democrat, filed. She also lives in Independence. Egger announced her candidacy on Feb. 12.
State Rep. Curt Dougherty, a Democrat, currently represents the 53rd District. He cannot run for the seat again because of term limits.
The 53rd District covers eastern Independence, Buckner and Levasy. The territory covers land east of U.S. 24 and north from Missouri 78 and west from Burnley Road.

Missouri House – District 54

State Rep. Gary Dusenberg, R-Blue Springs, will be term limited at the end of the 2010 session. The 54th District serves Blue Springs, north of Interstate 70 east to the Lafayette County line as well as portions of southeast Independence.

Candidates who filed Tuesday include Democrat John Bullard Jr., Buckner, and Republican Jeanie Lauer, Blue Springs.

Bullard, a former candidate for Jackson County Sheriff, is a police sergeant with the Independence Police Department.

Lauer has served District 1 on the Blue Springs City Council since 2008.

Missouri House – District 55

State Rep. Bryan Pratt, R-Blue Springs, will be term limited at the end of the 2010 session. The 55st District serves Blue Springs south of Interstate 70 east to the Lafayette County line.

Candidates who filed Tuesday include Democrat Clay Rodgers and Republican Sheila Solon, both of Blue Springs.

Rodgers is a business representative for the International Union of Painters and Allied Trades.

Solon currently serves on the Blue Springs City Council. She also spent nine years on the Blue Springs Planning Commission as well as serving with other city and community organizations.

Missouri House – District 56

The seat once held by State Rep. Brian Yates, R-Lee’s Summit, is currently vacant after Yates announced he was leaving office a few months ago.

The 56th District serves portions of southern Blue Springs, Grain Valley and Oak Grove as well as eastern Lee’s Summit. Democratic candidate Dave Coffman and Republican Mike Cierpiot, both of Lee’s Summit, have filed for the seat.

Coffman served two years in the United States Army before beginning his career in education. He worked in the Raytown School District for 22 years, before retiring in 2000.

Cierpiot has worked for 36 years at SBC/AT&T. He has also been active in local Republican politics and campaigns, including his wife’s campaign when she ran for the Missouri General Assembly.