Filing opened Tuesday for the Aug. 3 primary elections in races for the U.S. Congress.

Filing opened Tuesday for the Aug. 3 primary elections in races for the U.S. Congress.

U.S. Representative – District 4

The Republicans are lining up for a chance to knock off a longtime Democratic congressman in Missouri’s 4th District, which includes a portion of Eastern Jackson County.

Democrat Ike Skelton of Lexington is serving his 17th term in Congress and has given every indication that he is running again, but no Democrats filed on Tuesday.

Six Republicans filed Tuesday: James Scholz of Warrensburg, Arthus John Madden of Malta Bend, Vicky Hartzler of Harrisonville, Roy Viessman of Jefferson City, Brian Riley of Marshall and state Sen. Bill Stouffer of Napton. Party primaries are Aug. 3, and the general election is Nov. 2.

Greg Cowan of Lebanon, Mo., filed for the Constitution Party nomination.

The 4th District is much of central and western Missouri, including Oak Grove, Grain Valley and part of Blue Springs.

U.S. Representative – District 5
Five candidates have filed for U.S. Representative  for the 5th district.
The seat is currently held by Emanuel Cleaver II, of Kansas City, who filed for re-election Tuesday morning.

Republican candidates who filed Tuesday were Patrick Haake, Kansas City, Ralph Sheffield, also of Kansas City, and Jacob Turk, of Lee’s Summit.

Dave Lay, Blue Springs, filed under the Constitution Party.
District 5 covers most of Jackson County and the northwestern section of Cass County. Cities in the district are Kansas City, Raytown, Independence,  Sugar Creek  Grandview, Raymore, Peculiar and Belton. It also includes Lee’s Summit, Greenwood and Lone Jack.

U.S. Representative – District 6
Incumbent Rep. Sam Graves, R-Tarkio, is the only person who filed for election Tuesday.
The 6th District covers most of northwest and north-central Missouri including most of Blue Springs and other portions of Eastern Jackson County.

Graves was first elected to the 6th District in 2000. Prior to that time, he served as both state representative and state senator in the 1990s.