Eastern Jackson County dominated the high school basketball scene this season with 11 area teams finishing with winning records.

Eastern Jackson County dominated the high school basketball scene this season with 11 area teams finishing with winning records.

So it was no surprise that local players dominated the postseason Suburban All-Conference teams with 15 boys and 14 girls earning first- or second-team recognition.

After going 24-3 and advancing to the Class 5 sectional, Blue Springs South senior Justin Pitts was named the Suburban Big Six Conference Player of the Year while Jaguars coach Jimmy Cain was named the conference’s Coach of the Year. Pitts also has been named a finalist for the DiRenna Award, which is given to the top player in the metro area.

South sophomore Kevin Puryear joined Pitts on the first team, along with Blue Springs senior Jay Corwin and Lee’s Summit North senior Tyler Anderson. South senior Carl Martin, Blue Springs juniors Elijah Lee and Walter Sorrells and North senior Richard Chapman made the second team.

After winning the first conference crown in school history and leading Fort Osage to the Class 5 quarterfinals for the first time, Indians senior D’Vante Mosby was named the Suburban Middle Seven Conference Player of the Year and Fort coach Josh Wilson Coach of the Year. Fort seniors Austin Regier and Zach Adams were also named to the first team and William Chrisman’s Eli Alvis (senior), Alex Ball (junior) and Chris Horn (sophomore) picked up second-team selections. Fort Osage sophomore Will Penamon and freshman Skylar Thompson received honorable mention status.

In the Middle Six, Truman senior point guard Lane Titus registered a slot on the first team while senior teammates Zach Huber, Tom Ruddy and Scott Agee and sophomore Dewayne Thornton were named honorable mention.

On the girls side, Blue Springs seniors Lizzy Wendell, Karyla Middlebrook and Tyra Bickham snared Big Six first-team selections after leading the Wildcats to a third-place state finish. Lee’s Summit North juniors Imani Johnson and Erica Nelson joined them on the first team and Blue Springs South junior Remy Davenport and sophomore Cloe Lane were named to the second team.

After a 25-1 season, four Truman players bagged first-team honors as senior Ashley Guenther and juniors Becca Jonas, Abby Hix and Kayla Harrell dominated the Middle Six roster and senior Brooke Parton picked up honorable mention recognition.

William Chrisman senior Nieka Wheeler was a first-team selection in the Middle Seven while Fort Osage juniors Raven Bunn and Asia Cole made the second team. Fort junior Siera Glassford and freshman Paige Bunn and Chrisman sophomore Makenzie Erikson were named honorable mention.