Submitted to The Examiner

The Missouri Automobile Dealers Association honored Kirt Mosier and Rani Khakh, as two of six finalists for the 2008 Missouri Teacher of the Year Award. 

Mosier is the orchestra teacher at Lee's Summit West High School in the Lee's Summit School District. He has taught for 21 years. Khakh is a third grade teacher at Franklin Smith Elementary School in the Blue Springs School District. She has been teaching for nine years.

Both were selected as finalists by the Missouri Department of Elementary & Secondary Education. Each year a DESE appointed selection committee names the six state finalists for this program.  Following personal interviews with each finalist, the committee selects the Teacher of the Year.

MADA is joining with state education officials to show their support for classroom teachers by donating the use of a new car to the 2008 Missouri Teacher of the Year award winner.

“The automobile dealers of Missouri are proud to be able to recognize the outstanding teachers who work in public schools across the state.  We look forward to working with state and local school officials to strengthen the Teacher of the Year program,” said MADA Chairman Paul Broome.  Mr. Broome is the owner of Broome Cadillac, Inc. in Independence.

 “Missouri's new car dealerships make a significant economic contribution to many communities across our state.  We knew that supporting the Teacher of the Year program would be a tangible way for us to show support for the schools in our communities and to help honor an outstanding Missouri educator,” said Sam Barbee, President and CEO of MADA. 

Based in Jefferson City, the association represents 500 franchise automobile dealers throughout the state.

“We have been trying for several years to boost the level of support for the Teacher of the Year program.  We are delighted to have MADA's generous contribution, and we look forward to working with the organization to increase the visibility of the Teacher of the Year program statewide,” said Commissioner King. 

DESE has conducted the Teacher of the Year program annually since 1957.  Missouri's winner automatically becomes a candidate for the National Teacher of the Year Program, a project of the Council of Chief State School Officers. The National Teacher of the Year is announced in April at the White House in Washington, D.C.  Any classroom teacher in a Missouri public school may be nominated for the award. 

All six Teacher of the Year finalists have already been individually introduced, recognized and acknowledged at each of the six University of Missouri home football games this fall. 

The Teacher of the Year for 2008, Margaret Williams, social studies teacher at University City High School, University City School District, received the keys to a new car  at the Tigers' final home game against Kansas State on Nov. 8.