The membership of the Independence Junior Service League gathered Saturday, May 9, at the Club House for the women’s service organization’s annual meeting.

The membership of the Independence Junior Service League gathered Saturday, May 9, at the Club House for the women’s service organization’s annual meeting. A favorite event on the JSL calendar the morning brunch served as an opportunity to reflect on the accomplishments of the past year, install new officers and board members, welcome new and prospective members and award the League’s Bess Wallace Truman Scholarship.

Outgoing President Karen Penrod acted as mistress of ceremonies for the morning activities. Playing to a capacity crowd, Penrod employed the poise and humor that marked her presidency to make for a lively and memorable annual meeting. In keeping with tradition, the membership adopted a solemn mood when observing a moment of silence for members Marjorie Newhouse, Betty Winter, and Barbara Wymore, each of whom passed away this year.

A highlight of each year’s gathering is the presentation of the Bess Wallace Truman Scholarship which was awarded this year to Truman High School graduate Jessica Carrick. Selected by a committee of league members and community representatives, the recipient is chosen each year from among outstanding female students in the city of Independence who emulate the model of Mrs. Truman through scholastic achievement, civic duty, and community service.

The occasion was also marked by the voting in of new members Debra Craig, Virginia DeBoard, Beth Garner, June Hinson, Nancy Lauber and Jeannie Rentschler who successfully completed the required provisional course. New provisional members for 2009-10 Janette Barron, Chrissy Durham, Mindi Finke, Kathryn Harvel, Vonnie Hohensinner, Rachel Hollinbeck, Regina Lalla, Casey Nagel, Julie Nieweg, Angela Penrod, Natalie Sevy, Lori Worth Smith, Terri Steele, Kristina Ward and Lesa Weimann were introduced.

To conclude the meeting Penrod passed the gavel to Jaime Matthews who will serve as JSL president for the upcoming term. Installed by sustaining member Judy Austin, Jaime and her executive committee comprised of Vice President Terri Kalbfleish, Secretary Suzanne Raney, Treasurer Beth Bresette and Member at Large Johnna Bodenstab took their oaths to guide the club through the coming twelve months.

Inspiring in her first address to the membership, Matthews revealed her unique capabilities. A wife, mother and career woman Matthews left no doubt of her ability to manage with aplomb the challenges of a busy schedule and the demands of work, family, and service to the community. The newly installed leader of JSL asked all present to rededicate themselves to the mission of service and the benefits of friendship that define the organization. She requested that every member from the newest to the most established demand a little more of themselves this year to fulfill the purpose of League as a training ground for women leaders and a resource for community service.

This year’s annual meeting was hosted by sustaining members Judy Austin, Barbara Burmeister, Shirley Desselle, Colleen Foudree, Henrietta Fullerton, Joy Hobick, Shirley Holder, Beth Kapke, Jane Leonard, Arlene Miller, Charlotte Ronan, Lonna Smittle and Lennie Wyre.